Tickets

The project

The Fondation Beyeler owns one of Switzerland’s most extensive collections of paintings by the Dutch artist Piet Mondrian, ranging from important early works to classic late pictures. Plans for a major Mondrian exhibition at the museum in 2022 provided the impetus to set up the Piet Mondrian Conservation Project. The focus of the project, starting in 2019 and running to 2021, is on the technical investigation of the seven paintings held by the Fondation Beyeler.

About the project

Selected works

The Beyeler collection includes seven works by Mondrian that illustrate the development of his work from figuration to abstraction with particular clarity. Click through the works.

In the paintings Eucalyptus (1912) and Compositie I (Arbres) (1912/13) the tree motif is still visible; Compositie 9 (Blue Facade) (1914) refers to the side wall of a house showing the traces of an adjoining building that had been demolished. Tableau I (1921/1925) is an arrangement of color planes framed by black lines.

In the later pictures Composition with Blue and Yellow (1932) and Composition with Double Line and Blue (1935), relationships charged with tension arise between the lines surrounding patches of white and areas of color. Lozenge Composition with Eight Lines and Red (Picture No. 3) (1938) has the appearance of a detail from a far larger composition. Here, it becomes clear that the linear structures could be continued into an imaginary space of infinity.

01 Piet Mondrian, Eukalyptus, 1912, Oil on canvas, 60,0 x 51,0 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Beyeler Collection, © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust, c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA, Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

02 Piet Mondrian, Composition No. XVI (Compositie I, Arbres), 1912–1913, Oil on canvas, 85,5 x 75,0 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Beyeler Collection © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR, International Warrenton, VA USA, Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

03 Piet Mondrian, Composition No. VI (Composition 9, Blue Façade), 1914, Oil on canvas, 95,5 x 68,0 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Beyeler Collection © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA, Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

04 Piet Mondrian, Tableau No. I, 1921–1925,Oil on canvas, 75,5 x 65,5 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Beyeler Collection © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

05 Piet Mondrian, Composition with Yellow and Blue, 1932, Oil on canvas, 55,5 x 55,5 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Beyeler Collection © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA, Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

06 Piet Mondrian, Composition with Double Line and Blue, 1935, Oil on canvas, 72,5 x 70,0 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Beyeler Collection © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA, Foto: Robert Bayer, Basel

07 Piet Mondrian, Lozenge Composition with Eight Lines and Red, (Picture No. III), 1938, Oil on canvas, 100,5 x 100,5 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Sammlung Beyeler © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Partnership:

The conservation of the four late works is made possible by the generous support of La Prairie.

Eukalyptus 

Eucalyptus provides a striking demonstration of Mondrian’s experiments with stylistic elements of Cubism in the treatment of composition and color.
SHOW ARTWORK

 

Tableau No. I

Research is currently still ongoing.

COMING SOON

Composition No. XVI

(Compositie I, Arbres)

Despite the geometric structure of Composition No. XVI, the generally fine lines and sketch-like application of color make the picture light and transparent.
SHOW ARTWORK

 

Composition with Yellow and Blue

Research is currently still ongoing.

COMING SOON

Lozenge Composition with Eight Lines and Red (Picture No. III)

Research is currently still ongoing.

COMING SOON

 

Composition No. VI

(Compositie 9, Blue Façade)

In Composition No. VI Piet Mondrian is more interested in the structural characteristics and colors of the house as sources of inspiration than in its figurative representation.
SHOW ARTWORK

 

Composition with Double Line and Blue

Research is currently still ongoing.

COMING SOON

 

The Artist

PIET MONDRIAN

Piet Mondrian is one of the foremost painters of classic modernism. His art shows a logical development from figuration to radical abstraction. Starting as a landscape painter in the Dutch nineteenth-century tradition, he progressively concentrated his means of artistic expression. Nature was invariably his model, irrespective of whether he was painting a windmill or the branches of a tree, or devising a composition that appeared non-representational. Eventually he discovered what, for him, was the essence of a picture: line and plane, with black and white, and the three primary colors: red, yellow, and blue.

Piet Mondrian (*March 7, 1872, in Amersfoort, Netherlands; † February 1, 1944, in New York) is one of the most important figures in modern art and is considered a founder of abstract painting. He lived and worked in the Netherlands, in Paris, and—after the outbreak of World War II—in London and the USA.

In his early work, Mondrian devoted himself to landscape painting, under the marked influence of, initially, the Impressionist style of the Hague School, and then, from 1908, of Vincent van Gogh and the Fauvists. From 1911, when he encountered the work of Georges Braque und Pablo Picasso, his pictures showed stylistic traits of Cubism. In 1917 Mondrian co-founded the artistic movement known as De Stijl, with its journal of the same name. In his manifesto Le Néo-Plasticisme (1920), he formulated the basic principles of the “neo-plastic” vision that informed his work from the 1920s onward, focusing on geometric compositions with characteristic grid structures and rectangular planes in primary colors. After 1940, when he left Europe for the USA, Mondrian began to break up the austerity of his pictures by introducing mosaic-like patterns of bright color that reflected new influences, especially from music.

 


 

Explore more works

Eukalyptus

Eucalyptus provides a striking demonstration of Mondrian’s experiments with stylistic elements of Cubism in the treatment of composition and color.

About the project

Find out more about the Piet Mondrian Conservation Project. 

Composition No. XVI

(Compositie I, Arbres)

Despite the geometric structure of Composition No. XVI, the generally fine lines and sketch-like application of color make the picture light and transparent. The latter effect is amplified by the fact that large areas of the primed canvas remain visible.

 


 

#PietMondrianConservationProject

Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on social media. This way you will receive all the latest information.

Tickets

Das Projekt

Die Fondation Beyeler hat eine der umfassendsten Sammlungen von Piet Mondrian Gemälden in der Schweiz, von wichtigen Frühwerken bis zu den späten Klassikern. Eine umfangreiche Ausstellung in der Fondation Beyeler zu Piet Mondrian, geplant für das Jahr 2022, gab den Impuls das Piet Mondrian Conservation Project ins Leben zu rufen. Von 2019-2021 liegt der Fokus des Projektes in der maltechnischen Erforschung der sieben Gemälde in der Fondation Beyeler.

Über das Projekt

Die Werke

In der Sammlung Beyeler befinden sich sieben Werke Mondrians, die seine Entwicklung von Figuration zu Abstraktion besonders deutlich machen. Klicken Sie sich durch die Werke.

Die Gemälde «Eukalyptus» (1912) und «Compositie I (Arbres)» (1912/13) lassen noch das Vorbild von Bäumen erahnen, das Werk «Compositie 9 (Blue Facade)» (1914) bezieht sich auf die Seitenwand eines Gebäudes, auf dem ein abgebrochenes Nachbarhaus Spuren hinterlassen hat. «Tableau I» (1921/1925) ist eine Anordnung von Farbflächen, die von schwarzen Linien eingefasst sind.

In den späteren Bildern «Komposition mit Blau und Gelb» (1932) und «Komposition mit Doppellinie und Blau» (1935) entstehen spannungsvolle Beziehungen zwischen den Linien, die flächiges Weiss und farbige Zonen einschliessen. Die «Rautenkomposition mit acht Linien und Rot (Picture No. 3)» (1938) wirkt wie der Ausschnitt einer viel grösseren Bildanlage. Hier wird klar, dass die Linienkonstruktionen in eine gedachte Unendlichkeit fortgeführt werden können.

01 Piet Mondrian, Eukalyptus, 1912, Öl auf Leinwand, 60,0 x 51,0 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Sammlung Beyeler, © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust, c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA, Foto: Robert Bayer, Basel

02 Piet Mondrian, Composition No. XVI (Compositie I, Arbres), 1912–1913, Öl auf Leinwand, 85,5 x 75,0 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Sammlung Beyeler © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR, International Warrenton, VA USA, Foto: Robert Bayer, Basel

03 Piet Mondrian, Composition No. VI (Composition 9, Blue Façade), 1914, Öl auf Leinwand, 95,5 x 68,0 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Sammlung Beyeler © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA, Foto: Robert Bayer, Basel

04 Piet Mondrian, Tableau No. I, 1921–1925, Öl auf Leinwand, 75,5 x 65,5 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Sammlung Beyeler © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA
Foto: Robert Bayer, Basel

05 Piet Mondrian, Composition with Yellow and Blue, 1932, Öl auf Leinwand, 55,5 x 55,5 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Sammlung Beyeler © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA, Foto: Robert Bayer, Basel

06 Piet Mondrian, Composition with Double Line and Blue, 1935, Öl auf Leinwand, 72,5 x 70,0 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Sammlung Beyeler © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA, Foto: Robert Bayer, Basel

07 Piet Mondrian, Lozenge Composition with Eight Lines and Red, (Picture No. III), 1938, Öl auf Leinwand, 100,5 x 100,5 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Sammlung Beyeler © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA Foto: Robert Bayer, Basel

Partnerschaft:

Die Restaurierung der vier Spätwerke wird ermöglicht durch die grosszügige Unterstützung von La Prairie.

Eukalyptus

In Eukalyptus zeigt sich eindrucksvoll, wie Mondrian in Komposition und Farbgebung mit kubistischen Stilmerkmalen experimentierte.
ZUM WERK

 

Tableau No. I

Die Untersuchungen laufen noch.

COMING SOON

Composition No. XVI 

(Compositie I, Arbres)

Dem geometrischen Bildaufbau zum Trotz erscheint Composition No. XVI mit den überwiegend feinen Linien, aber auch dem skizzenhaften Farbauftrag leicht und durchlässig.
ZUM WERK

 

Composition with Yellow and Blue

Die Untersuchungen laufen noch.

COMING SOON

Lozenge Composition with Eight Lines and Red (Picture No. III)

Die Untersuchungen laufen noch.

COMING SOON

 

Composition No. VI 

(Compositie 9, Blue Façade)

Möglicherweise war Mondrian mit seinem Werk noch nicht zufrieden: Zumindest hat er es zwischen den Ausstellungen 1914 und 1915 oder bald danach überarbeitet. Woher weiß man das? Es zeigt sich an den kompositionellen Veränderungen der schwarzen Linien. 
ZUM WERK

 

Composition with Double Line and Blue

Die Untersuchungen laufen noch.

COMING SOON

 

Der Künstler

PIET MONDRIAN

Piet Mondrian ist einer der wichtigsten Maler der Klassischen Moderne. Konsequent hat er seine Kunst von figurativen Anfängen zu radikaler Abstraktion entwickelt. Er begann als Landschaftsmaler in der Tradition des 19. Jahrhunderts in Holland und konzentrierte seine künstlerischen Ausdrucksmittel immer mehr. Dabei liess er sich immer vom Naturvorbild leiten, ob er eine Windmühle malte oder die Zweige eines Baumes oder eine ungegenständlich erscheinende Komposition. Schliesslich fand er, was für ihn die Essenz des Bildes an sich ist: Linie und Fläche, nämlich Schwarz und Weiss, und die drei Grundfarben, Blau, Gelb und Rot.

Piet Mondrian (*7. März 1872 in Amersfoort, Niederlande; † 1. Februar 1944 in New York City, New York) ist einer der bedeutendsten Maler der Moderne und zählt zu den Begründern der abstrakten Kunst. Er lebte und arbeitete in den Niederlanden, Paris und –nach Ausbruch des Zweiten Weltkriegs – in London und den USA.

In seinem Frühwerk widmete er sich der Landschaftsmalerei, wobei er zunächst stark vom impressionistischen Stil der Haager Schule, ab 1908 von den Gemälden Vincent van Goghs und den Fauvisten beeinflusst wurde. Nachdem er 1911 mit der Malerei Georges Braques und Pablo Picassos in Berührung kam, zeigten seine Werke stark kubistische Stilmerkmale. 1917 war Mondrian Gründungsmitglied der Künstlervereinigung De Stijl und einer Zeitschrift gleichen Namens, in der er seine Schrift Le Néo-Plasticisme herausgab. Mondrian thematisierte in dieser Abhandlung die Grundpfeiler seiner Stilrichtung Neo-Plastizismus, in der er ab den 1920er Jahren streng geometrische Kompositionen mit charakteristischen Rasterstrukturen und rechteckigen Flächen in den Grundfarben schuf. Unter dem Einfluss neuer, vor allem auch musikalischer, Eindrücke entstanden ab 1940 im Exil mosaikartig aufgelockerte Werke.

 

 


 

Entdecken Sie weitere Werke

Eukalyptus

In Eukalyptus zeigt sich eindrucksvoll, wie Mondrian in Komposition und Farbgebung mit kubistischen Stilmerkmalen experimentierte.

Über das Projekt

Erfahren Sie mehr über das Piet Mondrian Conservation Project

Composition No. XVI

(Compositie I, Arbres)

Dem geometrischen Bildaufbau zum Trotz erscheint Composition No. XVI mit den überwiegend feinen Linien, aber auch dem skizzenhaften Farbauftrag leicht und durchlässig.


 

#PietMondrianConservationProject

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und folgen Sie uns auf Social Media. So erhalten Sie alle aktuelle Informationen.