Tickets

The project

The Fondation Beyeler owns one of Switzerland’s most extensive collections of paintings by the Dutch artist Piet Mondrian, ranging from important early works to classic late pictures. Plans for a major Mondrian exhibition at the museum in 2022 provided the impetus to set up the Piet Mondrian Conservation Project. The focus of the project, starting in 2019 and running to 2021, is on the technical investigation of the seven paintings held by the Fondation Beyeler.

About the project

Selected works

The Beyeler collection includes seven works by Mondrian that illustrate the development of his work from figuration to abstraction with particular clarity. Click through the works.

In the paintings Eucalyptus (1912) and Compositie I (Arbres) (1912/13) the tree motif is still visible; Compositie 9 (Blue Facade) (1914) refers to the side wall of a house showing the traces of an adjoining building that had been demolished. Tableau I (1921/1925) is an arrangement of color planes framed by black lines.

In the later pictures Composition with Blue and Yellow (1932) and Composition with Double Line and Blue (1935), relationships charged with tension arise between the lines surrounding patches of white and areas of color. Lozenge Composition with Eight Lines and Red (Picture No. 3) (1938) has the appearance of a detail from a far larger composition. Here, it becomes clear that the linear structures could be continued into an imaginary space of infinity.

01 Piet Mondrian, Eukalyptus, 1912, Oil on canvas, 60,0 x 51,0 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Beyeler Collection, © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust, c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA, Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

02 Piet Mondrian, Composition No. XVI (Compositie I, Arbres), 1912–1913, Oil on canvas, 85,5 x 75,0 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Beyeler Collection © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR, International Warrenton, VA USA, Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

03 Piet Mondrian, Composition No. VI (Composition 9, Blue Façade), 1914, Oil on canvas, 95,5 x 68,0 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Beyeler Collection © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA, Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

04 Piet Mondrian, Tableau No. I, 1921–1925,Oil on canvas, 75,5 x 65,5 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Beyeler Collection © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

05 Piet Mondrian, Composition with Yellow and Blue, 1932, Oil on canvas, 55,5 x 55,5 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Beyeler Collection © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA, Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

06 Piet Mondrian, Composition with Double Line and Blue, 1935, Oil on canvas, 72,5 x 70,0 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Beyeler Collection © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA, Foto: Robert Bayer, Basel

07 Piet Mondrian, Lozenge Composition with Eight Lines and Red, (Picture No. III), 1938, Oil on canvas, 100,5 x 100,5 cm, Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Basel, Sammlung Beyeler © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Partnership:

The conservation of the four late works is made possible by the generous support of La Prairie.

Eukalyptus 

Eucalyptus provides a striking demonstration of Mondrian’s experiments with stylistic elements of Cubism in the treatment of composition and color.
SHOW ARTWORK

 

Tableau No. I

Research is currently still ongoing.

COMING SOON

Composition No. XVI

(Compositie I, Arbres)

Despite the geometric structure of Composition No. XVI, the generally fine lines and sketch-like application of color make the picture light and transparent.
SHOW ARTWORK

 

Composition with Yellow and Blue

Research is currently still ongoing.

COMING SOON

Lozenge Composition with Eight Lines and Red (Picture No. III)

Research is currently still ongoing.

COMING SOON

 

Composition No. VI

(Compositie 9, Blue Façade)

In Composition No. VI Piet Mondrian is more interested in the structural characteristics and colors of the house as sources of inspiration than in its figurative representation.
SHOW ARTWORK

 

Composition with Double Line and Blue

Research is currently still ongoing.

COMING SOON

 

The Artist

PIET MONDRIAN

Piet Mondrian is one of the foremost painters of classic modernism. His art shows a logical development from figuration to radical abstraction. Starting as a landscape painter in the Dutch nineteenth-century tradition, he progressively concentrated his means of artistic expression. Nature was invariably his model, irrespective of whether he was painting a windmill or the branches of a tree, or devising a composition that appeared non-representational. Eventually he discovered what, for him, was the essence of a picture: line and plane, with black and white, and the three primary colors: red, yellow, and blue.

Piet Mondrian (*March 7, 1872, in Amersfoort, Netherlands; † February 1, 1944, in New York) is one of the most important figures in modern art and is considered a founder of abstract painting. He lived and worked in the Netherlands, in Paris, and—after the outbreak of World War II—in London and the USA.

In his early work, Mondrian devoted himself to landscape painting, under the marked influence of, initially, the Impressionist style of the Hague School, and then, from 1908, of Vincent van Gogh and the Fauvists. From 1911, when he encountered the work of Georges Braque und Pablo Picasso, his pictures showed stylistic traits of Cubism. In 1917 Mondrian co-founded the artistic movement known as De Stijl, with its journal of the same name. In his manifesto Le Néo-Plasticisme (1920), he formulated the basic principles of the “neo-plastic” vision that informed his work from the 1920s onward, focusing on geometric compositions with characteristic grid structures and rectangular planes in primary colors. After 1940, when he left Europe for the USA, Mondrian began to break up the austerity of his pictures by introducing mosaic-like patterns of bright color that reflected new influences, especially from music.

 


 

Explore more works

Eukalyptus

Eucalyptus provides a striking demonstration of Mondrian’s experiments with stylistic elements of Cubism in the treatment of composition and color.

About the project

Find out more about the Piet Mondrian Conservation Project. 

Composition No. XVI

(Compositie I, Arbres)

Despite the geometric structure of Composition No. XVI, the generally fine lines and sketch-like application of color make the picture light and transparent. The latter effect is amplified by the fact that large areas of the primed canvas remain visible.

 


 

#PietMondrianConservationProject

Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on social media. This way you will receive all the latest information.

Billets

Le projet

La Fondation Beyeler possède l’une des collections les plus complètes de tableaux de Piet Mondrian en Suisse, allant d’œuvres importantes des débuts de l’artiste à des classiques plus tardifs. Une exposition d’envergure consacrée à l’artiste néerlandais, prévue à la Fondation Beyeler pour l’année 2022, a donné l’impulsion pour le lancement du Piet Mondrian Conservation Project. De 2019 à 2021, ce projet se concentre sur l’étude et l’exploration des techniques picturales des sept tableaux de la Fondation Beyeler.

À propos du projet

Les travaux

La Collection Beyeler compte sept œuvres de Mondrian, qui retracent de manière particulièrement lisible son évolution de la figuration à l’abstraction. Cliquez sur les œuvres.

Les tableaux Eukalyptus (1912) et Compositie I (Arbres) (1912/13) laissent encore deviner le modèle des arbres. Compositie 9 (Blue Facade) (1914) se réfère au mur latéral d’un bâtiment sur lequel un immeuble voisin démoli a laissé des traces. Tableau I (1921/1925) est un agencement de plages chromatiques bordées de lignes noires.

Dans les œuvres plus tardives Komposition mit Blau und Gelb (1932) et Komposition mit Doppellinie und Blau (1935), un jeu de tension s’établit entre les lignes qui enserrent des plats blancs et des zones de couleur. Rautenkomposition mit acht Linien und Rot (Picture No. 3) (1938) semble extrait d’une composition bien plus grande: il y apparaît clairement que les lignes peuvent être prolongées jusque dans un infini imaginé.

01 Piet Mondrian Eukalyptus, 1912 Huile sur toile, 60,0 x 51,0 cm Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Bâle, Collection Beyeler © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA Photo: Robert Bayer, Bâle

02 Piet Mondrian Composition No. XVI (Compositie I, Arbres), 1912–1913 Huile sur toile, 85,5 x 75,0 cm Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Bâle, Collection Beyeler © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA, Photo: Robert Bayer, Bâle

03 Piet Mondrian Composition No. VI (Composition 9, Blue Façade), 1914 Huile sur toile, 95,5 x 68,0 cm Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Bâle, Collection Beyeler © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA Photo: Peter Schibli

04 Piet Mondrian Tableau No. I, 1921–1925 Huile sur toile, 75,5 x 65,5 cm Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Bâle, Collection Beyeler © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA Photo: Robert Bayer, Bâle

05 Piet Mondrian Composition with Yellow and Blue, 1932 Huile sur toile, 55,5 x 55,5 cm Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Bâle, Collection Beyeler © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA Photo: Robert Bayer, Bâle

06 Piet Mondrian Composition with Double Line and Blue, 1935 Huile sur toile, 72,5 x 70,0 cm Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Bâle, Collection Beyeler © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA Photo: RRobert Bayer, Bâle

07 Piet Mondrian Lozenge Composition with Eight Lines and Red (Picture No. III), 1938 Huile sur toile, 100,5 x 100,5 cm Fondation Beyeler, Riehen / Bâle, Collection Beyeler © Mondrian / Holtzman Trust c/o HCR International Warrenton, VA USA Photo: Robert Bayer, Bâle

La collaboration:

La restauration des quatre œuvres tardives est rendue possible grâce au généreux soutien de La Prairie.

Eukalyptus

Eukalyptus est un exemple remarquable de la manière dont Mondrian explore les caractéristiques du style cubiste en termes de composition et de palette de couleurs.
En savoir plus

 

Tableau No. I

La recherche est actuellement en cours.

À venir

Composition No. XVI

(Compositie I, Arbres)

En dépit de la composition géométrique du tableau, avec ses lignes majoritairement fines et son application de couleur comme esquissée Composition No. XVI paraît léger et translucide.
En savoir plus

 

Composition with Yellow and Blue

La recherche est actuellement en cours.

À venir

Lozenge Composition with Eight Lines and Red (Picture No. III)

La recherche est actuellement en cours.

À venir

 

Composition No. VI

(Compositie 9, Blue Façade)

Mondrian n’était vraisemblablement pas encore satisfait de son œuvre : toujours est-il qu’il la reprend entre les expositions de 1914 et 1915, ou peu après. Comment le savons-nous? Nous le voyons aux modifications de composition des lignes noires.
En savoir plus

 

Composition with Double Line and Blue

La recherche est actuellement en cours.

À venir

 

L'artiste

PIET MONDRIAN

Piet Mondrian est l’un des peintres majeurs de l’art moderne classique. De manière rigoureuse, il a fait évoluer sa peinture de débuts figuratifs à une abstraction radicale. Il commence comme peintre de paysage dans la tradition du 19ème siècle aux Pays-Bas et concentre ensuite toujours davantage ses moyens d’expression artistique. Ce faisant, la nature lui sert continuellement de modèle, qu’il peigne un moulin à vent, les branches d’un arbre, ou encore une composition apparemment non figurative. Enfin, il trouve ce qui lui semble l’essence même de l’image: ligne et surface, à savoir le noir et le blanc, et les trois couleurs primaires bleu, jaune et rouge.

Piet Mondrian (*7 mars 1872 à Amersfoort, Pays-Bas; † 1er février 1944 à New York City, New York) est l’un des artistes majeurs de l’art moderne et compte parmi les fondateurs de la peinture abstraite. Il a vécu et travaillé aux Pays-Bas, à Paris et – après le début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale – à Londres et aux États-Unis.

À ses débuts, Mondrian se consacre à la peinture de paysage, dans un premier temps fortement influencé par le style impressionniste de l’École de La Haye, à partir de 1908 par les toiles de Vincent van Gogh et des fauves. Après sa découverte en 1911 de la peinture de Georges Braque et Pablo Picasso, les œuvres de Mondrian présentent de fortes caractéristiques cubistes. En 1917, Mondrian est membre fondateur du groupe De Stijl et d’une revue éponyme. Dans son essai Le Néo-Plasticisme (1920), Mondrian formule les principes fondamentaux de ce nouveau style, suivant lesquels il crée à partir des années 1920 des compositions strictement géométriques à structure en grille caractéristique et aux aires rectangulaires de couleurs primaires. En exil aux États-Unis à partir de 1940, influencé par des impressions nouvelles et surtout musicales, Mondrian assouplit ses compositions en mosaïques rythmées.

 


 

Découvrez d'autres œuvres

Eukalyptus

Eukalyptus est un exemple remarquable de la manière dont Mondrian explore les caractéristiques du style cubiste en termes de composition et de palette de couleurs.

EN SAVOIR PLUS​​​​​​​

À propos du projet

En savoir plus sur le Piet Mondrian Conservation Project

Composition No. XVI

(Compositie I, Arbres)

En dépit de la composition géométrique du tableau, avec ses lignes majoritairement fines et son application de couleur comme esquissée Composition No. XVI paraît léger et translucide.

 


 

#PietMondrianConservationProject

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter et suivez-nous sur les médias sociaux. Vous recevrez toutes les informations les plus récentes.