Picasso
Tickets

February 3 – May 26, 2019

The young PICASSO - Blue and Rose Periods

In 2019, as an exceptional cultural highlight, the Fondation Beyeler is mounting a unique exhibition devoted to Pablo Picasso’s masterpieces of his early Blue and Rose periods. This will be the most comprehensive presentation ever seen in Europe of Picasso’s paintings and sculptures from 1901 to 1906, each one of which is a milestone on the road to recognition as the twentieth century’s paramount artist. Picasso’s pictures from this period are counted among the most beautiful examples of modern art and are certainly some of the most valuable art works anywhere in the world.

At the age of just twenty, the aspiring genius Picasso (1881 – 1973) was already engaged in a restless search for new themes and forms of expression, which he immediately brought to perfection. One artistic revolution followed another, in a rapid succession of changing styles and visual worlds. The forthcoming exhibition at the Fondation Beyeler places the focus on the Blue and Rose periods, and thus on a central phase in Picasso’s work. It also sheds fresh light on the emergence, from 1907 onward, of Cubism, as an epochal new movement that was nevertheless rooted in the art of the preceding period.

Room Guide

In these poignant and magical works, realized in Spain and France, Picasso – the artist of the century – creates images that have a universal evocative power. Matters of existential significance, such as life, love, sexuality, fate, and death, find their embodiment in the delicate beauty of young women and men, but also in depictions of children and old people who carry within them happiness and joy, accompanied by sadness.

The exhibition features around 75 masterpieces on loan from major museums and private collections worldwide. In a multimedia space, fascinating and interactive books and a film allow visitors to immerse themselves in the young artist’s life and work.

Events "The Young PICASSO – Blue and Rose Periods"

The Fondation Beyeler invites you to immerse yourself in the world of the early 20th century: for the duration of the exhibition from 3 February to 26 May 2019, the museum’s basement level will host the Café Parisien, where visitors can eat, drink, talk, and enjoy the venue’s special and nostalgic atmosphere. On Wednesdays, the Café Parisien turns into a variety theatre, hosting colourful, entertaining and artistic acts. As a young man in Paris, Pablo Picasso moved in bohemian circles of artists and acrobats. The inspiration he drew from these companions and from their shared favourite haunts can be traced in many of the works created during this period.

Read more

Admission Picasso

You can buy tickets for the exhibition online in advance, to avoid queuing at the ticket office. Groups of 20 or more are required to book in writing in advance even if no tour guide is needed.

Adults CHF/EUR 30.–
Online ticket booked in advance until 31. 12. 2018 CHF/EUR 25.–
Admission after 4.30 p.m. CHF/EUR 25.–
Combination ticket Picasso, Stingel, Resonating Spaces
Buy online
(Available up to May 26, 2019. Cannot be combined with other discounts)
CHF/EUR 65
School and university students (with ID) 16-30 years old CHF/EUR 15.–
Students at the Kunsthistorisches Seminar Basel and Schule Kunst und Gestaltung Basel free admission
Children up to age 15 free admission
Groups of 20 or more
advance reservation required
CHF/EUR 25 
per person 
Additional information on school groups

 

School groups from the cantons of Basel-Stadt and Basel-Landschaft

Free admission

Workshops and guided tours for all school groups (until December 31, 2019)

Free

School Groups
Reservation required via the online-form
Additional information for school groups

 

Classes: without prior appointment a charge of CHF 50 will be raised
Public tours (held daily, in German), price per person CHF/EUR 7.–
Private tours for groups (max. 20 persons) CHF/EUR 800.–
Evening tours with apéritif/dinner price on request

Exhibition organised by the Fondation Beyeler in collaboration with the Musées d’Orsay et de l’Orangerie, Paris, and the Musée National Picasso-Paris. 

The exhibition is generously supported by:

Main partner

Partners and donors

As well as further patrons who prefer to remain anonymous.

Media partner

Billets
Picasso

3 février – 26 mai 2019

Le jeune Picasso – Périodes bleue et rose

La présentation à la Fondation Beyeler des premiers chefs-d’oeuvre de la période bleue et rose de Pablo Picasso (1881–1973) dans une exposition unique sera le point culturel culminant de l’année 2019. Pour la première fois en Europe, une abondance de tableaux et sculptures de Picasso réalisés entre 1901 et 1906 seront exposés ensemble – jalons marquants sur le chemin de l’artiste le plus célèbre du XXe siècle. Les tableaux de cette période créatrice comptent parmi les plus beaux de l’époque moderne et sont indéniablement des oeuvres d’art inestimables.

Tout juste âgé de 20 ans, le jeune génie émergeant se lance à la recherche de formes d’expression et de thèmes picturaux toujours nouveaux qu’il mène à la perfection. Les styles et les univers picturaux se bousculent; les « révolutions » artistiques se succèdent. L’exposition se concentre sur les périodes bleue et rose, phases centrales du travail de Picasso. Elle ouvre, en outre, la perspective sur l’émergence historique du cubisme vers 1907, qui se développe à partir des créations précédentes de l’artiste présentées ici sous une toute nouvelle lumière.

Notices de Salle

Audioguide pour adultes avec enfants
D, E, F CHF / € 8.- 
Disponible au bureau d'information du Musée.

Bon d'entrée au musée set de 3 / 2019

Par ses peintures et ses sculptures touchantes et envoûtantes de la période bleue et rose réalisées en Espagne et en France, Picasso, artiste majeur du XXe siècle, fait naître une expression artistique à la portée universelle. Des thèmes existentiels tels que la vie, l’amour, la sexualité, le destin et la mort trouvent leur incarnation dans des hommes et des femmes jeunes aux traits fins et délicats, ainsi que chez des enfants et des personnes âgées qui portent en eux bonheur, joie, mais aussi chagrin simultanément.

L’exposition comprend environ 75 chefs-d’oeuvre en provenance de grands musées et d’importantes collections privées du monde entier. Dans une salle multimédia, des livres fascinants et interactifs et un film invitent à approfondir la vie et l’oeuvre du jeune artiste.

Événements « Le jeune PICASSO – Périodes bleue et rose »

La Fondation Beyeler vous convie à une immersion dans l’univers du 20ème siècle naissant: tout au long de la durée de l’exposition du 3 février au 26 mai 2019, le souterrain du musée accueille le Café Parisien. Les visiteurs peuvent y manger, y boire, y discuter et se laisser simplement captiver par l’atmosphère unique et nostalgique du lieu. Le mercredi, le Café Parisien devient théâtre de variétés, accueillant des spectacles hauts en couleur, artistiques et divertissants. Lors de ses jeunes années à Paris, Pablo Picasso évoluait dans le milieu bohémien des artistes et des acrobates de cirque. L’inspiration qu’il tirait de ces compagnons et des lieux qu’ils fréquentaient ensemble apparaît dans de nombreuses œuvres datant de cette époque.

Lire plus

Tarifs d’entrée Picasso

Pour visiter les expositions de la Fondation Beyeler, achetez votre billet en ligne avant votre arrivée au musée. Les groupes de 20 personnes et + sont accueillis uniquement sur réservation.

Adultes CHF/EUR 30
Billets en ligne en prévente jusqu'au 31. 12. 2018 CHF/EUR 25
Tous les jours à partir de 16h30 CHF/EUR 25
Billet Combi Picasso, Stingel, Resonating Spaces
Acheter en ligne
(Ce billet est disponible jusqu’au 26 mai 2019. Les réductions ne sont pas cumulables)
CHF/EUR 65
Étudiants de 16 à 30 ans, sur présentation d’une pièce justificative CHF/EUR 15
Étudiants du Kunsthistorisches Seminar de Bâle et de la Schule Kunst und Gestaltung de Bâle entrée gratuite
Enfants jusqu’à 15 ansentrée gratuite
Bénéficiaires d'une rente AI CHF/EUR 25
Entrée gratuite pour l'accompagnateur
Pour de plus amples informations concernant l'accueil des personnes handicapées 
Groupes de 20 personnes et +
Réservation obligatoire
CHF/EUR 25 
par personne
Pour de plus amples informations concernant les groupes
Scolaires des cantons de Bâle et de Bâle ville

ENTRÉE GRATUITE

Ateliers et visites guidées pour toutes les scolaires (jusqu'au 31 décembre 2019)

GRATUITE

Scolaires : réservation obligatoire
via formulaire en ligne
Plus d'informations concernant l'accueil des scolaires

 

Classes: Si vous vous présentez avec une classe sans avoir réserve, on vous facturera des frais forfaitaires de traitement de CHF 50.-
Visites guidées publiquess (en allmend) CHF/EUR 7
Visites privées pour les groupes (max. 20 personnes) CHF/EUR 800
Visite privée en soirée avec apéritif/dîner Prix ​​sur demande

Exposition organisée par la Fondation Beyeler en collaboration avec les musées d’Orsay et de l’Orangerie et le musée national Picasso – Paris.

L’exposition bénéficie du généreux soutien de:

Partenaire principal

Partenaires et mécènes

Ainsi que d’autres donateurs privés qui souhaitent rester anonymes.

Partenaire média