Picasso
Extended

THE FONDATION BEYELER AT ART BASEL 2019

The centerpiece of this year’s Fondation Beyeler booth at Art Basel is Goya’s remarkable painting Witches’ Sabbath (El Aquelarre) from 1797-98. This work, an exceptional loan from the Museo Lázaro Galdiano in Madrid, provides a first glimpse of the major Goya exhibition that will take place next year at the Fondation Beyeler in Riehen/Basel.

Art Basel Booth | Hall 2.0 | H1

 

OPENING HOURS DURING ART BASEL 

Saturday, June 8, until Sunday, June 16, daily from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Please note: on Wednesday, June 12, the museum closes at 7 pm (instead of 8 pm) 
On June 15 the museum will stay open until 9 pm for all sun.set guests (admission only with ticket purchased online before the event).

There are no public guided tours during Art Basel, from June 8 to 16.

Free admission with the following cards:

  •  Art Basel First Choice 
  •  Art Basel Artist VIP 
  •  Design Miami Member

20% discount on the entrance fee:

  •  Art Basel day ticket
  •  List Basel VIP

 

In the week to come, visitors to Basel will be able to view an outstanding selection of modern and contemporary art put together by Switzerland’s most visited art museum. 

Exhibitions at the Fondation Beyeler

The Young PICASSO – Blue and Rose Periods 
February 3 – June 16, 2019
This exhibition, the most ambitious ever staged by the Fondation Beyeler, is devoted to the paintings and sculptures of the young Pablo Picasso from the so-called Blue and Rose Periods, between 1901 and 1906. For the first time in Europe, the masterpieces of these crucial years, most of them milestones on Picasso’s path to preeminence as the twentieth century’s most famous artist, are presented together, in a concentration and quality that are unparalleled. Picasso’s pictures from this phase of creative ferment are some of the finest and most emotionally compelling examples of modern painting, and are counted among the most valuable and sought-after works in the entire history of art. It is unlikely that they will be seen again in such a selection in a single place. 

#BeyelerPicasso 

 

Rudolf Stingel
May 26 – October 6, 2019
The exhibition at the Fondation Beyeler is the first major presentation of Rudolf Stingel’s work in Europe following his show at Palazzo Grassi in Venice (2013) and the first in Switzerland since the one staged by the Kunsthalle Zurich (1995). It stretches over the nine rooms of the Fondation Beyeler’s south wing and also temporarily includes the two rooms of Restaurant Berower Park. Conceived room by room, the exhibition curated by Udo Kittelmann in close collaboration with the artist does not follow a chronological order, focussing instead on the specific confrontation of individual artworks, whose selection and display have been conceived in specific response to the spaces designed by Renzo Piano. Some of the works will be shown for the very first time and the show will also present new site-specific installations. 

#BeyelerStingel 

 

Louise Bourgeois 
Insomnia Drawings 

June 8 – September 2019
Works from the Daros Collection
“Les paysages de nuit ont envahi les jours (The landscapes of night have conquered the day)” All her life, French-American artist Louise Bourgeois suffered regular bouts of insomnia. Yet the long hours of the night proved immensely productive, turning her sleeplessness into an important part of her artistic practice. Between November 1994 and June 1995, she filled a total of 220 pages with drawings and poem-like jottings: the Insomnia Drawings. At times abstract and geometric, at times realistic and figurative, they reflect Bourgeois’ complicity with sleeplessness, her memories and her thoughts. 

#BeyelerBourgeois 

More than just a restaurant: "The Bey" 
The Fondation Beyeler creates a multifaceted meeting place and thus revives a vacant shop. In addition to the restaurant, café, shop for editions and design articles, a co-working space and library will also be set up. The result is an exciting place to linger and enjoy.

Billets
Picasso

LA FONDATION BEYELER À ART BASEL 2019

Le stand de la Fondation Beyeler à Art Basel s’agence cette année autour de l’impressionnante toile de Goya Le Sabbat des sorcières (El Aquelarre) de 1797/98, prêt exceptionnel du Museo Lázaro Galdiano de Madrid. Cette oeuvre annonce la grande exposition que consacrera la Fondation Beyeler à Goya l’année prochaine à Riehen/Bâle. 

Art Basel Booth | Hall 2.0 | H1

 

HORAIRES D'OUVERTURE PENDANT ART BASEL

Du samedi 8 juin au dimanche 16 juin tous les jours de 9h à 19h.
Le mercredi 12 juin, le musée ferme exceptionnellement à 19h au lieu de 20h. 
Samedi 15 juin le musée reste ouvert jusqu’à 21h uniquement pour les visiteurs de l’évènement sun.set.

Du 8 au 16 juin, il n'y aura pas de visites guidées publiques.

Entrée gratuite avec les cartes suivantes :

  •  Art Basel First Choice 
  •  Art Basel Artist VIP 
  •  Design Miami Member

20% de réduction sur le prix d'entrée :

  •  Art Basel Tageskarte
  •  Liste Basel VIP

 

Dans la semaine à venir, les visiteurs se rendant à Bâle pourront profiter d’une sélection exceptionnelle d’art moderne et contemporain proposée par le musée d’art le plus visité de Suisse. 

Expositions à la Fondation Beyeler

Le jeune PICASSO – Périodes bleue et rose
3 février – 16 juin 2019
Dans ce qui sera à ce jour sa plus prestigieuse exposition, la Fondation Beyeler se consacre au jeune Pablo Picasso et à ses peintures et sculptures des périodes dites bleue et rose de 1901 à 1906. Ce sera la toute première fois en Europe que sera donné à voir un éventail d’une telle densité et d’une telle qualité des chefs-d’oeuvre de cette période importante, parmi des jalons marquants de la trajectoire de Picasso en marche vers son statut d’artiste le plus célèbre du 20ème siècle. Les oeuvres de cette période sont parmi les plus belles et les plus émouvantes de l’art moderne et font partie des oeuvres d’art les plus précieuses et inestimables. Il est fort probable qu’elles ne seront plus amenées à se retrouver ainsi réunies en un lieu unique. 

#BeyelerPicasso 

 

Rudolf Stingel
26 mai – 6 octobre 2019
L’exposition de la Fondation Beyeler est la première exposition d’envergure de Rudolf Stingel en Europe après celle du Palazzo Grassi à Venise (2013) et la première en Suisse depuis celle de la Kunsthalle de Zurich (1995). Elle occupera les neuf salles de l’aile sud de la Fondation Beyeler, de même que pour un temps les deux salles du Restaurant Berower Park. Conçue de salle en salle, l’exposition installée par le commissaire invité Udo Kittelmann en étroite collaboration avec l’artiste ne suit aucun ordre chronologique strict mais fait plutôt le choix d’une confrontation spécifique de différentes oeuvres. Certaines oeuvres seront montrées en public pour la toute première fois et l’exposition présentera également de nouvelles installations in situ. 

#BeyelerStingel 

 

Louise Bourgeois Insomnia Drawings 
8 juin – septembre 2019
OEuvres de la Daros collection Tout au long de sa vie, Louise Bourgeois (1911 Paris – 2010 New York) a eu l’insomnie pour constante compagne. Or, l’artiste franco-américaine a beaucoup produit pendant les longues heures de la nuit, de sorte que son insomnie est devenue une part importante de son travail artistique. Entre novembre 1994 et juin 1995, ce ne sont pas moins de 220 feuillets qu’elle recouvre de dessins et de notations poétiques : les Insomnia Drawings. Tantôt abstraits et géométriques, tantôt réalistes et figuratifs, ils reflètent la complicité de Bourgeois avec l’insomnie, ses souvenirs et ses pensées. 

#BeyelerBourgeois