Vincent van Gogh

Vincent van Gogh
Champ de blé aux bleuets, 1890
Champ aux meules de blé, 1890
Champ de blé aux bleuets, 1890
Add to favorites 

Currently on show at the Musée d'Orsay in Paris

Vincent van Gogh
Champ de blé aux bleuets, 1890

Wheatfield with Cornflowers
Oil on canvas, 60 x 81 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

With fresh hopes of an improvement in his condition, on 20 May 1890 Vincent van Gogh departed for Auvers-sur-Oise, which lay to the west of Paris. After devoting himself at first to motifs that he found in and around the picturesque town, which had already attracted other artists (Daubigny, Pissarro, Cézanne) before him, van Gogh soon turned his attention increasingly to the vast fields of wheat on a plateau above the town. In these now legendary pictures, the painter lent expression to his “extreme loneliness”. The Fondation owns two works from this very last phase in van Gogh’s œuvre. The first to be painted was the animated Wheatfield with cornflowers: a gust of wind, rippling in ecstatic hatching through the stalks, makes the wheat field disappearing into the background ‘overflow’. The heads of a few yellow stalks of wheat detach themselves in the centre and plunge into the blue of the hills behind, thereby echoing the blue of the cornflowers in the field.

Champ aux meules de blé, 1890
Add to favorites 

Currently on show at the Ordrupgaard Museum for Fransk Impressrionisme in Kopenhagen

Vincent van Gogh
Champ aux meules de blé, 1890

Field with Stacks of Grain
Oil on canvas, 50 x 100 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Considered one of van Gogh’s very last paintings, Field with stacks of wheat is both more rigid and at the same time more abstract than Wheatfield with cornflowers. Divided into fields of varying rhythmical structure, the brushstrokes here overlie the landscape like a grid. The picture culminates in the two large stacks of wheat that tower over the empty plateau like abandoned dwellings and thereby almost completely cut off the sky. The only living creature is a solitary crow, flying into the depths of the landscape on the left.

Vincent van Gogh

1853, Groot-Zundert, Holland –1890, Auvers-sur-Oise

Having previously undertaken a variety of studies and jobs in The Hague and Brussels, van Gogh increasingly focused on the private study of art. Through his brother Theo he got to know the leading Impressionist artists, including Claude Monet, Pierre-Auguste Renoir, Alfred Sisley, Camille Pissarro, Edgar Degas, Paul Signac and Georges Seurat. Under their influence his palette became noticeably brighter, as shown by the paintings he produced from 1888 onwards, following a stay in Arles. Here van Gogh completed almost 200 paintings, over 100 drawings and watercolours; his preferred subjects were orchards, harvest scenes in summer and portraits. The attempt to establish an artists’ cooperative in Arles failed due to violent disagreements with his fellow artist Paul Gauguin, culminating in a dispute whereby the psychologically destabilized van Gogh cut off part of his ear. Shortly after this he admitted himself to the Saint-Paul-de-Mausole asylum near Saint-Rémy. On 29 July 1890 van Gogh died as a result of self-inflicted gunshot injuries. He is regarded as one of the major forerunners of modernism. The extensive correspondence he maintained above all with his brother Theo not only reveals a great deal about his artistic reflections and methods, it also gives insight into a deeply troubled soul.

Station

Vincent van Gogh

Vincent van Gogh
Champ de blé aux bleuets, 1890
Champ aux meules de blé, 1890
Champ de blé aux bleuets, 1890
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Vincent van Gogh
Champ de blé aux bleuets, 1890

Huile sur toile, 60 x 81 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

C’est en espérant une amélioration de son état de santé que Vincent van Gogh part le 20 mai 1890 pour Auvers-sur-Oise, au nord-ouest de Paris. Après s’être intéressé à des motifs découverts aux environs de cette localité pittoresque, où d’autres peintres (Daubigny, Pissarro, Cézanne) s’étaient déjà rendus, il ne tarde pas à se concentrer sur les vastes champs de blé qui s’étendent sur un plateau, au-dessus du village. C’est ainsi que voient le jour des tableaux légendaires dans lesquels le peintre exprime ce qu’il appelle sa « solitude sans fin ». La Fondation possède deux œuvres de cette toute dernière phase de création de van Gogh. Le Champ de blé aux bleuets mouvementé a sans doute été le premier réalisé. Les épis de blé exécutés d’une touche extatique sont balayés par une bourrasque qui fait « déborder » le champ vers la profondeur du tableau : au centre, quelques tiges se détachent et plongent dans le bleu des collines, répondant ainsi à la couleur des bleuets du champ.

Champ aux meules de blé, 1890
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Vincent van Gogh
Champ aux meules de blé, 1890

Huile sur toile, 50 x 100 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

L’impression qui se dégage du Champ aux meules de blé, considéré comme l’un des tout derniers tableaux du peintre, est à la fois plus rigide et plus abstraite que celle du Champ de blé aux bleuets. Dans cette représentation, divisée en plages aux rythmes distincts, les touches se posent sur le paysage comme une grille. Le point culminant du tableau est formé par les deux grandes meules qui s’élèvent comme des habitations abandonnées au-dessus de la plaine déserte, bouchant presque entièrement le ciel. L’unique être vivant est une corneille qui vole sur la gauche, seule dans cette étendue de paysage.

Vincent van Gogh

1853, Groot-Zundert -1890, Auvers-sur-Oise

Après des études diverses à La Haye et à Bruxelles, van Gogh a préféré étudier tout seul. Dans les années 1880, il découvre par l’intermédiaire de son frère Theo les principaux artistes de l’impressionnisme, dont Claude Monet, Pierre-Auguste Renoir, Alfred Sisley, Camille Pissarro, Edgar Degas, Paul Signac et Georges Seurat. Sous leur influence, sa palette s’éclaircit de façon notable et se rapproche des coloris qui dominent ses toiles à partir de son séjour à Arles en 1888. Il y réalise 200 toiles, plus de 100 dessins et aquarelles. Ses sujets préférés sont des vergers, des scènes de moisson et des portraits. La tentative de fondation d’une colonie d’artistes à Arles échoue à la suite de violentes querelles avec son ami Gauguin, qui finissent par pousser van Gogh, à bout de nerfs, à se couper l’oreille. Peu après, il se fait admettre de son propre chef à la maison de santé de Saint-Paul-de-Mausole, près de Saint-Rémy. Van Gogh meurt le 29 juillet 1890 après s’être tiré une balle dans la poitrine. La correspondance animée qu’il a échangée surtout  avec son frère ne nous livre pas seulement ses réflexions artistiques ainsi que des informations sur ses méthodes de travail. Elle nous révèle surtout une âme d’artiste profondément désespérée.

Station