Sam Francis

Sam Francis
Round the World, 1958/59
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Sam Francis
Round the World, 1958/59

Oil on canvas, 276.5 x 321.5 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Even though Sam Francis’s work is usually viewed in the context of Abstract Expressionism, it also extends beyond the concept of Action Painting that grew out of the movement. For instance, the painter reasserts tighter control over his brushwork, and while his compositions remain largely abstract, they are closely related to the objective world – in particular to landscape – not least of all through their titles.
Thus, in the large-format painting Round the world the artist appears to describe one of the many swathes of countryside he observed from an aerial perspective as he flew over them on the two round-the-world trips he made in 1957 and 1958. The structure of the colour fields vigorously conveys the impression of a dynamic ‘universal landscape’ viewed from a great altitude. At the same time, Francis’s abstract pictorial idiom reveals the boundless creative possibilities of gestural painting.

Sam Francis
Sam Francis

1932, San Mateo (California) – 1994, Santa Monica (California)

The early monochromatic paintings produced by Sam Francis in Paris transcended the prevailing influence of Art Informel. With his 1953 work Big Red he resumed the American tradition of Colour Field painting, but also found inspiration in the work of various European painters who used ‘suggestive colour’, including Claude Monet, Pierre Bonnard, Paul Gauguin and Henri Matisse. A lasting impression was made on him, in particular, by Monet’s water lily paintings, which inspired him to compose pictorial space from discrete but interrelated cells of colour that generate a loosely woven texture and open up a non-illusionistic depth of field. A further result of his preoccupation with Monet was his use of intense colour hues, especially the triad blue, green and red, which he juxtaposed to produce stark contrasts; through their fluid application, these colours also overlap and trickle down in coloured streaks. “I make the late Monet pure”, Sam Francis purportedly declared in 1950, alluding to his commitment to abstraction [related by Bernard Schultze in a letter to Annelise Hoyer in August 1967].

Station

Sam Francis

Sam Francis
Round the World, 1958/59
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Sam Francis
Round the World, 1958/59

Autour du monde
Huile sur toile, 276,5 x 321,5 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Bien que l’on range habituellement Sam Francis parmi les représentants de l’expressionnisme abstrait, ses œuvres dépassent le concept d’« action painting » élaboré par ce courant. Le peintre soumet en effet la conduite du pinceau à un contrôle renforcé et établit un lien, notamment par le titre, entre ses compositions largement abstraites et le monde figuratif.
Dans son œuvre de grand format Round the World, l’artiste semble ainsi se référer à l’une des nombreuses étendues de terre vues du ciel, telles qu’il en a survolées au cours de ses deux tours du monde de 1957 et 1958. La structure des champs colorés semble rendre l’impression d’un paysage universel mouvant, vue de très haut. En même temps, le vocabulaire abstrait du tableau renvoie à l’infinité des possibilités créatrices de la peinture gestuelle.

Sam Francis
Sam Francis

1923, San Mateo/Californie – 1994, Santa Monica/Californie

Les premiers travaux monochromes de Sam Francis, réalisés à Paris, ont vu le jour à l’écart du courant informel. Avec son tableau « Big Red », Francis renoue avec la tradition de la colourfield painting américaine, une peinture par aplats de couleur, tout en se rattachant aux représentants européens de la « couleur suggestive », un mouvement qui va de Monet à Gauguin et Matisse en passant par Bonnard. Les cycles des Nymphéas de Monet notamment l’ont profondément impressionné et lui ont apporté une inspiration essentielle concernant l’organisation de l’espace pictural à partir de taches colorées décousues, qui composent un tissu textuel disloqué ouvrant la profondeur anti-illusionniste du tableau. L’influence de Monet apparaît également dans l’introduction de valeurs chromatiques intenses, avec au premier plan la triade colorée du bleu, du jaune et du rouge, juxtaposées en contrastes accusés, mais qu’une application fluide de la peinture conduit également à se superposer et à dégouliner en formant des mèches colorées. Il aurait déclaré dès 1950 : « Je fais du Monet tardif sous une forme pure » [Sam Francis à une question sur son travail. Relaté dans une lettre de Bernard Schultze à Annelise Hoyer d’août 1967]

Station