Piet Mondrian

Piet Mondrian
Eucalyptus, 1912
Composition No. XVI, Compositie 1 (Arbres), 1912/13
Composition No. VI, Compositie 9 (Blue Façade), 1914
Tableau No. I, 1921/1925
Komposition mit Gelb und Blau, 1932
Komposition mit Doppellinie und Blau, 1935
Picture No. III, 1938
Eucalyptus, 1912
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Piet Mondrian
Eucalyptus, 1912

Oil on canvas, 60 x 51 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

In all the phases of his œuvre Mondrian subscribed to the ideal that his painting should serve as the expression of a higher, spiritual order. The early years of his career as an artist, in particular, saw him employing a number of markedly different concepts in his pursuit of this goal. Initially esoteric in character, from 1911 onwards his work became increasingly influenced by Cubism. Mondrian’s highly individual treatment of this painting’s subject was an important step along his path to complete abstraction. Eucalyptus represents a tree, hence a motif that is very typical of early Mondrian, but not of Cubism in general in this period. His choice of palette and the compositional focus upon the picture’s centre nevertheless bear a Cubist stamp.

Composition No. XVI, Compositie 1 (Arbres), 1912/13
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Piet Mondrian
Composition No. XVI, Compositie 1 (Arbres), 1912/13

Composition No. XVI, Composition 1 (Trees)
Oil on canvas, 85.5 x 75 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Composition No. XVI (Composition I, trees) dates from Mondrian’s Cubist phase. Here he incorporates the forms of his trees into a network of lines that spread all over the canvas. In this, however, Mondrian departs from the Cubist compositions of Picasso and Braque, which invariably contain individual, seemingly illusionistic elements that stand out more markedly from the underlying grid of the picture. As such, Composition No. XVI is indicative of a more profound conceptual difference: while Mondrian sought to advance from the real-life object to an evenly rhythmic and abstract pictorial plane, the Cubists had no desire to be abstract and held fast to the representational.

Composition No. VI, Compositie 9 (Blue Façade), 1914
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Piet Mondrian
Composition No. VI, Compositie 9 (Blue Façade), 1914

Composition No.VI, Compostion 9 (Blue Façade)
Oil on canvas, 95.5 x 68 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Composition No. VI was painted in Paris, after Mondrian had made drawings of the side walls of houses on which the structures of demolished adjacent buildings could still be read. Such observed structures here become painted pictorial architecture. Horizontals and verticals have been made the common denominator of the internal forms and overall form of the composition.

Tableau No. I, 1921/1925
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Piet Mondrian
Tableau No. I, 1921/1925

Picture No. I
Oil on canvas, 75.5 x 65.5 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Picture No. I was painted in 1921 and subsequently reworked in 1925. Fundamental elements of Mondrian’s mature abstract pictorial language, including the sole use of right angles and black lines and the avoidance of symmetry, are already in place. But the artist still allows black as a plane, places a dark orange – rather than red – beside the two other primaries of blue and yellow, and deploys shades of grey instead of his later white. The key aspect here is balance. This shows itself, too, in the spatial choreography of the colours, which have been liberated from the object: while the blue gives the impression of lying behind the black grid, the yellow plane at the top seems to be thrusting out towards the viewer from the background.

Komposition mit Gelb und Blau, 1932
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Piet Mondrian
Komposition mit Gelb und Blau, 1932

Composition with Yellow and Blue, 1932
Oil on canvas, 55.5 x 55.5 cm
Foto: Peter Schibli, Basel

The Fondation Beyeler has brought together major works from the period of Mondrian’s fully abstract art. Compared with Picture No. I of 1921/1925, Composition with yellow and blue manifests a marked clarification and simplification in the arrangement of its planes of colour, whereby large areas of the picture now remain white. Examining a work of his mature period like this, which is reduced to just a few elements, we can sense Mondrian’s aim to convey the experience of a higher order that transcends the purely formal dimension by means of the subtle relationships between the forms and how they correspond to the surface of the picture as a whole.

Komposition mit Doppellinie und Blau, 1935
Add to favorites 

Currently exhibited at Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf

Piet Mondrian
Komposition mit Doppellinie und Blau, 1935

Composition with Double Line and Blue, 1935
Oil on canvas, 72.5 x 70 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Whereas Mondrian was still working with two primary colours in Composition with yellow and blue, in his painting Composition with double line and blue he reduced these to just one. Moreover, the proximity of the two black lines running parallel across the lower section of the picture awakens us to the new idea of also interpreting the white plane between them as a dynamic strip. A stepped frame provides the transition from picture to wall.

Picture No. III, 1938
Add to favorites 

Currently exhibited at Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf

Piet Mondrian
Picture No. III, 1938

Oil on canvas, sides: 100.5 cm, diagonals: 141.5 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

The pictorial square, floating at an angle of 45º, radiates a flawless clarity and at the same time conveys something of a sublime, moving secret. Mondrian created ‘lozenge’ paintings regularly from the 1910s onwards. They were important to him initially not least because they allowed him to consign the ‘empty corners’ of Cubist pictures to the wall. In this late painting in the Fondation’s collection, this ‘emptiness’ is now overcome in consummate fashion by invoking the idea that the vertical and horizontal lines can be imagined meeting ‘outside’ the picture. Within Mondrian’s aesthetic system, the fact that only the edges of the canvas are diagonal, and not the lines inside the picture, is crucial. It becomes possible to comprehend the picture in a new way, namely as an object on the wall capable of providing a glimpse of an ultimately infinite harmony.

Piet Mondrian

1872, Amersfoort – 1944, New York

While his early work was somewhat esoteric, Mondrian began to move away from (representational) Cubism towards abstraction in 1911. The Dutch painter lived in Paris from 1912 to 1914 and from 1919 to 1938. From 1916 onwards he devoted himself almost entirely to abstraction. In 1917 he co-founded the De Stijl journal with its associated group of artists, and is widely regarded as the theoretical initiator of this key art-historical movement. The period after 1920 was described by Mondrian as his ‘Neo-plasticist’ phase. At this time he sought an autonomous order of art: based upon fundamental laws of asymmetry, right-angled geometric forms and the use of primary colours only (plus black and white), the aim was to evoke an equilibrium within the picture that reflected the balance of the cosmos. After two years in London, he emigrated to New York in 1940. Mondrian’s art is of enormous importance for the emergence of modernism, whereby the critical reception of his work tends to emphasize form rather than content.

Station

Piet Mondrian

Piet Mondrian
Eucalyptus, 1912
Composition No. XVI, Compositie 1 (Arbres), 1912/13
Composition No. VI, Compositie 9 (Blue Façade), 1914
Tableau No. I, 1921/1925
Komposition mit Gelb und Blau, 1932
Komposition mit Doppellinie und Blau, 1935
Picture No. III, 1938
Eucalyptus, 1912
Add to favorites 

Exposé actuellement à la  Fondation Beyeler

Piet Mondrian
Eucalyptus, 1912

Huile sur toile, 60 x 51 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Dans toutes les phases de son travail, Mondrian a toujours cherché à exprimer à travers le contenu de ses œuvres un ordre spirituel supérieur. Néanmoins, au début surtout de son évolution artistique, les concepts artistiques mobilisés à cette fin ont connu des transformations majeures. Alors que dans un premier temps, son art était marqué par l’ésotérisme, il subit l’influence de plus en plus nette du cubisme à partir de 1911. Le traitement original que donne Mondrian de ce thème constitue un pas décisif en direction d’une abstraction complète. Eucalyptus représente un arbre, motif tout à fait typique du Mondrian de la première période mais étranger au cubisme de ce temps. En revanche, le choix des couleurs  et la concentration de la composition sur le centre de l’image révèlent une empreinte cubiste.

Composition No. XVI, Compositie 1 (Arbres), 1912/13
Add to favorites 

Exposé actuellement au Gemeentemuseum Den Haag

Piet Mondrian
Composition No. XVI, Compositie 1 (Arbres), 1912/13

Huile sur toile, 85,5 x 75 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Composition No. XVI (Composition I, Arbres) est issue de la phase cubiste de Mondrian. Il insère ici les formes de ses arbres dans un réseau de lignes qui couvrent l’image. Ce faisant, il s’écarte de la construction cubiste du tableau de Picasso et Braque, qui conservent toujours quelques éléments illusionnistes contrastant de façon plus marquée avec la trame du tableau. Il s’agit d’une profonde différence conceptuelle : alors que Mondrian cherche à parvenir, à partir de l’objet réel, à une surface abstraite au rythme régulier, les cubistes ne visent pas du tout à l’abstraction et restent attachés à la figuration.

Composition No. VI, Compositie 9 (Blue Façade), 1914
Add to favorites 

Exposé actuellement au Gemeentemuseum Den Haag

Piet Mondrian
Composition No. VI, Compositie 9 (Blue Façade), 1914

Huile sur toile, 95,5 x 68 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Composition No. VI a vu le jour à Paris, à une époque où Mondrian avait dessiné les murs de maisons sur lesquels on pouvait encore déceler la trace de constructions attenantes démolies. Le même type de structures donne ici naissance à une architecture peinte. Les horizontales et les verticales sont désormais les communs dénominateurs des formes intérieures et de la forme d’ensemble du tableau.

Tableau No. I, 1921/1925
Add to favorites 

Exposé actuellement à la  Fondation Beyeler

Piet Mondrian
Tableau No. I, 1921/1925

Huile sur toile, 75,5 x 65,5 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Tableau No. I a été réalisé en 1921 et remanié en 1925. À cette date, un certain nombre d’éléments majeurs du langage pictural de Mondrian, alors arrivé à maturité, sont déjà définis. On peut mentionner ainsi la présence exclusive de l’angle droit et des lignes noires, ou le refus de toute symétrie. Mais ici, l’artiste admet encore le noir comme couleur de surface ; à côté du bleu et du jaune, il place, au lieu de la troisième primaire, le rouge, un orange foncé et utilise des nuances de gris, à la place du blanc ultérieur. L’équilibre est  un élément majeur. En témoigne également la façon dont Mondrian met en scène la spatialité de la couleur détachée de l’objet : alors que nous avons l’impression que le bleu est situé derrière la trame noire, la surface jaune semble remonter de l’arrière vers l’avant, en direction du spectateur.

Komposition mit Gelb und Blau, 1932
Add to favorites 

Exposé actuellement à la  Fondation Beyeler

Piet Mondrian
Komposition mit Gelb und Blau, 1932

Huile sur toile, 55,5 x 55,5 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

La Fondation Beyeler rassemble plusieurs œuvres majeures de Mondrian datant de la période d’aboutissement de son art abstrait. Par rapport au Tableau No. I de 1921-1925, Composition avec  jaune et bleu frappe avant tout par l’élucidation et la simplification marquées de l’articulation des surfaces, de grandes parties du tableau restant désormais blanches. Devant une œuvre aussi mûre, réduite à quelques formes, on comprend le concept de Mondrian qui voulait, au-delà du purement formel, faire percevoir un ordre supérieur dans les rapports complexes des formes entre elles, et avec la surface d’ensemble du tableau.

Komposition mit Doppellinie und Blau, 1935
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Piet Mondrian
Komposition mit Doppellinie und Blau, 1935

Huile sur toile, 72,5 x 70 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Si dans Composition avec jaune et bleu, Mondrian se sert encore de deux couleurs primaires, il n’en reste plus qu’une dans Composition avec double ligne et bleu. Le rapprochement de deux barres noires parallèles dans la partie inférieure du tableau témoigne de sa réinterprétation des surfaces intermédiaires blanches sous forme d’un ruban dynamique. Un cadre étagé sert d’intermédiaire entre le tableau et le mur.

Picture No. III, 1938
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Piet Mondrian
Picture No. III, 1938

Tableau No III (Composition losangique avec huit lignes et rouge)
Huile sur toile, longueur des côtés 100,5 x 100,5 cm, longueur transversal 141,5 x 141,5 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Le carré peint reposant sur sa pointe irradie d’une clarté immaculée et transmet en même temps un peu d’un mystère sublime et émouvant. À partir des années 1910, Mondrian réalisa plusieurs « tableaux losangiques », dont l’intérêt premier était de lui permettre de déléguer au mur les « angles vides » du cubisme. Dans l’œuvre tardive de la Fondation, cet « espace vacant » est conquis de façon magistrale par le procédé consistant à faire se rencontrer virtuellement les lignes verticales et horizontales « à l’extérieur » du tableau. Dans l’esthétique de Mondrian, il est capital que seuls les bords du tableau soient désormais obliques, et non les lignes contenues dans le tableau. Le tableau est désormais perçu comme un objet qui se trouve sur le mur et peut ainsi constituer un extrait d’une harmonie infinie.

Piet Mondrian

1872, Amersfoort – 1944, New York

Après une œuvre de jeunesse assez ésotérique, Mondrian, établi à Paris de 1912 à 1914 puis de 1919 à 1938, renonce en 1911 au cubisme (figuratif) pour se tourner vers l’abstraction. À partir de 1916, il se consacre presque exclusivement à la peinture abstraite. En 1917, il participe à la fondation du mouvement de Stijl et  passe pour le prophète et le théoricien de cet important mouvement de l’histoire de l’art. L’époque qui suit 1920 est celle du « néoplasticisme », attaché à définir un ordre autonome de l’art : à partir des principes de base de l’asymétrie, de l’angle droit, de l’utilisation des couleurs primaires ainsi que du blanc et du noir, le tableau doit accéder à un équilibre évoquant celui du cosmos. Après avoir passé deux ans à Londres, Mondrian émigre à New York en 1940. Son œuvre a eu une importance considérable pour l’art moderne, qui l’aborde généralement— dépouillé de sa dimension conceptuelle — sous un angle purement formel.

Station