Paul Klee

Paul Klee
Die Kapelle, 1917, 127
Tropische Dämmerung, 1921, 128
vor dem Blitz, 1923,150
Besessenes Mädchen, 1924, 250
Was fehlt ihm?, 1930, 268 (AE 8)
aufgehender Stern, 1931, 230 (V 10)
Diana, 1931, 287 (Y 7)
nach der UeberSchwemmung, 1936, 7 (7)
Zeichen in Gelb, 1937, 210 (U 10)
boote in der Überflutung, 1937, 222 (V 2)
Halme, 1938, 6 (6)
die Vase, 1938, 122 (J 2)
Wald-Hexen, 1938,145 (K 5)
ein Weib für Götter, 1938, 452 (A12)
ein TOR, 1939, 911 (XX11)
glüht nach, 1939, 925 (YY 5)
O! die Gerüchte!, 1939, 1015 (CD 15)
MUMOM sinkt trunken in den Sessel, 1940, 301 (H1)
Schlamm-Assel-Fisch, 1940, 323 (G 3)
Ohne Titel [Gefangen/Diesseits – Jenseits/ Figur], about 1940
Die Kapelle, 1917, 127
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
Die Kapelle, 1917, 127

The Chapel
Watercolour and white tempera on paper on cardboard, 29.5 x 15 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Klee’s artistic career was bounded by the two major wars of the twentieth century. In 1914 the First World War broke out just three months after the legendary trip to Tunis that opened his eyes to colour. The Second World War was not even a year old when he died in 1940 in Muralto. When Klee painted Die Kapelle (The Chapel), he was himself a soldier – but to his good fortune stationed simply as a clerk with a German flying academy. As an artist, he was already in full flight: the watercolour demonstrates his fully developed style, replenishing the old pictorial rectangle with new spaces by using a dreamy geometry of precise and at the same time profoundly soulful gradations of colour. Mountains and architectural structures rise up out of a brownish base layer and are unfolded into an illusion of three-dimensionality. Like a playing card, Klee’s magical buildings can be read both upside and down – as the moons make clear.

Tropische Dämmerung, 1921, 128
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
Tropische Dämmerung, 1921, 128

Tropical Twilight
Oil on white primer on paper on cardboard, 33.5 x 23 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

vor dem Blitz, 1923,150
Add to favorites 

Currentyl not on show

Paul Klee
vor dem Blitz, 1923,150

Before the Lightning
Watercolour and pencil on paper, top and bottom edges with gouache, watercolour, and quill on cardboard, 28 x 31.5 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Besessenes Mädchen, 1924, 250
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
Besessenes Mädchen, 1924, 250

Girl Possessed
Oil transfer drawing and watercolour on paper on cardboard, 44.2 x 29.2 cm
Photo: Cantz Medienmanagement, Ostfildern

This sheet, whose title means ‘Girl Possessed’, could be interpreted as the representation of an actress or singer whose ardent performance has unwittingly descended into the ridiculous. The notion of ‘possession’, admittedly, has a number of implications: it could also mean being transported by a mysterious ecstasy, during which the possessed person sees beyond the veil of everyday reality. Seen in this light, could this girl be an oracular Delphic priestess or a female shaman in a trance, baring her teeth in ‘animal’ fashion and uttering hidden secrets? Her remote gaze and solemn symmetry would fit such a notion. The question remains as to why the girl has no hair. Shorn for religious reasons? Shaved off in the psychiatric clinic? Whatever the case, we are made spectators of an utterance that opens the door to a reality beyond rational perception – something true of Klee’s art as a whole.

Was fehlt ihm?, 1930, 268 (AE 8)
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
Was fehlt ihm?, 1930, 268 (AE 8)

What’s the Matter with Him?
Stamped drawing in ink on Ingres paper on cardboard, 55.5 x 34 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

aufgehender Stern, 1931, 230 (V 10)
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
aufgehender Stern, 1931, 230 (V 10)

Rising Star
Oil on canvas, 63 x 50 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

During the years 1930–33 Klee produced numerous works characterized by the use of small, regularly spaced dots of colour. He called these works ‘divisionist’, thus associating his technique with that of Seurat and Signac, who in the late nineteenth century had built up their pictures with small strokes of primary and complementary colours to achieve a systematic use of colour that reflected new optical theories. Unlike the Postimpressionists, however, Klee lays down his grid of dots on top of bright colour planes, thereby setting off an interplay of different colour membranes. In Aufgehender Stern (Rising Star), this grid appears in front of delicate clouds of colour and is complemented by small, detached planes and open arrangements of lines. The lines at the bottom of the picture mark horizons, for example, while at the top a zigzag trail charts the path travelled over time by a star rising in the firmament. The picture as a repository of time – a central idea of Klee’s art.

Diana, 1931, 287 (Y 7)
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
Diana, 1931, 287 (Y 7)

Oil on canvas, 80 x 60 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Already anticipating the heavy lines of his late work, the lines in Diana are energetically swept together to create planes set against the darkly mysterious dotted ground. These planes, likewise dotted, join up as a skin of colour to form the figure of the goddess of the hunt, twirling leftwards on a wheel as she pursues an arrow armed with an eye. In these two paintings Klee combines the ephemeral aspect of divisionism with his own understanding of the picture as a stage upon which essential, timeless forces can be rendered visible.

nach der UeberSchwemmung, 1936, 7 (7)
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
nach der UeberSchwemmung, 1936, 7 (7)

After the Flood
Coloured paste and watercolour on Ingres paper on cardboard, 47.9 x 62.6 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer; Basel

Having suffered from 1933 onwards under the political threat to his own work and to European culture as a whole, in 1935/36 Paul Klee was diagnosed with an incurable scleroderma. His late œuvre seems to have been profoundly influenced by these developments. Colourful planes (often left white in works on paper) engage in dialogue with heavy, chiefly black lines, which may emerge in all manner of shapes and combinations within one and the same picture, to make signs, figures and abstract grids. Working with just one basic artistic vocabulary, Klee was now able to switch freely between figure, sign and pure form, thereby fusing the central artistic idioms of Modernism into something new. The first recognizable instance of this style in the Fondation’s collection is found in nach der UeberSchwemmung (After the flood), one of the only 25 works that Klee produced in his year of crisis, 1936. In this picture, which probably makes reference to Klee’s earlier trip to Egypt in 1928, the lines resemble a script legible only as form, but one that gains in solidity as it moves upwards and injects rhythm into the still muddily muted colours.

Zeichen in Gelb, 1937, 210 (U 10)
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
Zeichen in Gelb, 1937, 210 (U 10)

Signs in Yellow
Pastel on cotton on coloured paste on burlap on stretcher, 83.5 x 50.3 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Zeichen in Gelb (Signs in yellow) represents Klee’s major work of 1937 and sees him working – as in all of his late œuvre – against his own serious illness and the darkening political situation. With its balance of heavy lines and colour fields, it demonstrates the style of these last years in a particularly impressive fashion: the signs – plants, characters and forms – are here united with magnificent fields of yellow and orange on all sides. The perfect equilibrium between the traditionally opposite poles of drawing and colour is matched in this work by the balance between meaning and openness: legibility is once again dispatched into the free preserve of form, while nameless form is brought back into the vicinity of possible meaning.

Order poster in the shop

boote in der Überflutung, 1937, 222 (V 2)
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
boote in der Überflutung, 1937, 222 (V 2)

Boats in the Flood Waters
Coloured paste on wrapping paper on cardboard, 49.5 x 32.5 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

The theme of the flood inspired by Klee’s 1928 trip to Egypt (cf. nach der UeberSchwemmung, 1936) is encountered again in boote in der Überflutung (Boats in the floodwaters) of 1937, which seems altogether reminiscent of Egyptian art. The individual lineaments are now distinctly separate from one another: bound together by the water, the elements of the landscape take shape in an upward progression from ancient symbols via plants to simple boats.

Halme, 1938, 6 (6)
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
Halme, 1938, 6 (6)

Blades
Coloured paste on paper on cardboard, 50 x 35 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Executed on paper but with the aura of a large painting, Halme (Blades) dates from 1938, a highly productive year for Klee despite his illness and external political constraints. It resembles a pictorial garden: black bars in different shapes guide the viewer as if exploring a labyrinth of shades of green.

die Vase, 1938, 122 (J 2)
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
die Vase, 1938, 122 (J 2)

The Vase
Oil on burlap on burlap, 88 x 54.5 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Wald-Hexen, 1938,145 (K 5)
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
Wald-Hexen, 1938,145 (K 5)

Forest Witches
Oil on paper on burlap, 99 x 74 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Klee’s Wald-Hexen (Forest witches) ranks among the most impressive works of his final years. Over an olive-green ground, the heavy lines so typical of Klee’s late œuvre form a lattice that meanders across the entire surface of the picture and – in a new departure – even seems to extend beyond its edges. Out of diverse, not directly related fragments of these lineaments, the figures of two ‘witches’ gradually crystallize before our eyes. Standing on the right is a naked figure, of whom we can make out the legs, belly, breasts and head, including the face. The figure on the left also shows her face, while her legs, clad in a dress, execute a dance step. Although the mysterious female figures are made easier to locate by some of the fiery red colour zones surrounding the dark lines, Klee shows the witches as if in a vision, one that threatens to vanish at any moment into the camouflaging confusion of the dense vegetation of heavy lines.

ein Weib für Götter, 1938, 452 (A12)
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
ein Weib für Götter, 1938, 452 (A12)

A Woman for Gods
Coloured paste and watercolour on wrapping paper on cardboard, 44.3 x 60.5 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

The female figure in ein Weib für Götter (A woman for gods) is of a singular kind. She looks as if she has been crammed into the rectangular picture by force. And even though – in contrast to the Wald-Hexen witches – she is drawn with an unbroken line, she too is fragmented: just one leg and one arm are visible, the latter, moreover, severed of its hand. Her figure furthermore possesses an eerie power to transform itself: if we rotate the image 90° clockwise, her breasts turn into the eyes of a monster and the red moon becomes a mouth. What precisely does this picture show? A disfigured, entombed goddess – or a human (female) sacrifice offered to the gods? Whatever the case, in the artist’s seemingly ironically distorted image of a ‘woman for gods’ her disquieting figure no longer matches our idea of a female chosen for such a destiny. Here the myth is hidden, disquieting and mutilated.

ein TOR, 1939, 911 (XX11)
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
ein TOR, 1939, 911 (XX11)

A Gate
Tempera on Ingres paper on cardboard, 31.6 x 14 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

‘This a gate through which we must all one day pass – Death’. Thus the reported reaction of the philosopher Martin Heidegger when he first saw ein Tor (‘a Gate’) in the Galerie Beyeler. Klee, who gave the sheet to the Basel collector Richard Doetsch-Benziger for Christmas in 1939, created the picture in several steps. First of all he painted the entire sheet black, and then proceeded to mask this black with other layers of paint, leaving exposed only those areas which we now see as black lines and adding the silvery-grey forms of the architecture and landscape, together with the moon resting on top of the gate wall. In the year that saw the outbreak of the Second World War and shortly before his own death, Klee thus gave visible form to the fundamental membrane – ultimate and concealed – on which the elements in his picture are dependent for their outlines. In the present case this membrane is revealed indeed to be black – but with a silvery light playing across it.

glüht nach, 1939, 925 (YY 5)
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
glüht nach, 1939, 925 (YY 5)

Still Glows
Watercolour and pencil on paper on cardboard, 29.5 x 21 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Although still just recognizable, the figure in this luminous watercolour seems to be on the point of disintegrating into its individual parts. It stands against the Passion field of the picture with its head tilted to one side, its trunk and legs detached from its shoulders. The isolated lineament on the left, resembling a K, might be read as the first letter of the artist’s surname – in which case we might view the small figure as an image of the artist, tormented by illness and the course of developments. Yet this is just one of the possibilities offered by this existential watercolour. At any rate, life in glüht nach – as the title suggests – is ‘still glowing’ and has not yet been extinguished for good.

O! die Gerüchte!, 1939, 1015 (CD 15)
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
O! die Gerüchte!, 1939, 1015 (CD 15)

Oh! These Rumors!
Tempera and oil on burlap, 75.5 x 55 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Towards the end of Klee’s life, the existential content of his art increased.  Two timelines thereby came together, and in many cases fused: that of Klee’s protracted illness, which led to his death on 29 June 1940, and that of political events, which reached a new climax on 1 September 1939 with the outbreak of the Second World War. In O! die Gerüchte (Oh! These rumours) this threat is unmistakable: against a flickering background, we see a figure with its arms raised, accompanied by strange small creatures and moving toward the right. It is formed of rudimentary thick lines and surrounded by richly contrasting colour fields: the staring eyes by blue, the mouth by red, and in the top left-hand corner the ears – echoing with the grim rumours of the day – by orange. The figure is in motion, but it cannot escape: awaiting it on all sides are the confining boundaries of the painting. A picture of fear – and at the same time a work in which a great artistic force finds consummate expression despite the desperate circumstances.

MUMOM sinkt trunken in den Sessel, 1940, 301 (H1)
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
MUMOM sinkt trunken in den Sessel, 1940, 301 (H1)

MUMOM, Drunk, Collapses into an Armchair
Coloured paste on paper on cardboard, 29.5 x 21 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Constructed of powerful black lines that affirm the graphic character of the lineaments of Klee’s late work, the drawing MUMOM sinkt trunken in den Sessel (MUMOM, drunk, collapses into an armchair) – dating from 1940 and thus from the final months of the artist’s life – seems positively burlesque. The small figure portrayed here in an otherworldly in-between realm possesses a certain majesty, humorously caricatured but nevertheless wise, as it addresses itself – with its glass raised – to the final earthly things in their Dionysian variety.

Schlamm-Assel-Fisch, 1940, 323 (G 3)
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
Schlamm-Assel-Fisch, 1940, 323 (G 3)

Mud-Woodlouse-Fish
Coloured paste and grease crayon on newspaper on cardboard, 34 x 53.5 cm
Photo: Cantz Medienmanagement, Ostfildern

A sense of paralysis also infuses Schlamm-Assel-Fisch (Mud-Woodlouse-Fish) from 1940, the year in which Klee died. Here, the heavy lines form the skeleton of a fish and at the same time a woodlouse, an arthropod with seven pairs of legs and two tails. This element of mimicry is reinforced by the wordplay contained in the German title, in which the two animals are linked together in the assonant Yiddish word for misfortune, Schlamassel. A striking element is the line of dots around the periphery, which resemble the nails used to stretch canvases on frames. Yet the present work is painted on paper. Klee may have been thinking of the wall-mounted fossil of some primeval hybrid creature caught between sea and land, and at the same time of himself: the artist who found himself mired not only in personal but also in international political misfortune, but who mounted his own vehement resistance to inaction.

Ohne Titel [Gefangen/Diesseits – Jenseits/ Figur], about 1940
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Paul Klee
Ohne Titel [Gefangen/Diesseits – Jenseits/ Figur], about 1940

Untitled [Captive/Figure of This World–Next World]
Oil and coloured paste on primed burlap on burlap, 55.2 x 50.1 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

This work from Klee’s estate, left untitled at his death, holds great significance for the Fondation. Against an impressive background of blue, green and itinerant cloud-like areas of white, we see a figure described by thick black lines. The figure, which is lost in thought, looks as if it is part of a grill structure that is holding it fast, prompting Will Grohmann, Klee’s friend and an early authority on his art, to call the work Gefangen (‘Captive’). But the grating seems no longer fully intact and a release into the matrix of the background only a matter of time. Correspondingly, the painting could be seen as an image balanced on the threshold between life and death, which in turn led Ernst Beyeler to suggest his own title for the work, Diesseits – Jenseits: ‘This world – next world’.

Paul Klee

1879, Münchenbuchsee, nr. Bern – 1940, Locarno – Muralto (Switzerland)

The Swiss-German painter, graphic artist and printmaker began studying art in Munich, but soon left the academy, visiting Italy to study the Old Masters, then Paris to familiarize himself with the work of the Impressionists. He was strongly inspired in his use of colour and contrast by his encounter with August Macke, Wassily Kandinsky and Franz Marc around 1911, and through his exposure to the work of Robert Delaunay. A journey he made to Tunis in 1914 with Macke and Louis Moillet inspired his subsequent “breakthrough to colour“. He began composing his watercolours like musical scores consisting of coloured squares, wiry, linear motifs and representational forms, and gave them richly evocative poetic titles. In 1919 he turned to oil painting and became interested in exploring cosmic themes. From 1921 onwards he taught at the Bauhaus school, first in Weimar, then in Dessau. In 1924, together with Kandinsky, Feininger and Jawlensky, he founded the artists’ group The Blue Four. In 1930 he took up a teaching post at the Düsseldorf Academy of Fine Art, but was dismissed in 1933 when the Nazis came to power. He spent the rest of his life in Bern and Locarno.

Station

Paul Klee

Paul Klee
Die Kapelle, 1917, 127
Tropische Dämmerung, 1921, 128
vor dem Blitz, 1923,150
Besessenes Mädchen, 1924, 250
Was fehlt ihm?, 1930, 268 (AE 8)
aufgehender Stern, 1931, 230 (V 10)
Diana, 1931, 287 (Y 7)
nach der UeberSchwemmung, 1936, 7 (7)
Zeichen in Gelb, 1937, 210 (U 10)
boote in der Überflutung, 1937, 222 (V 2)
Halme, 1938, 6 (6)
die Vase, 1938, 122 (J 2)
Wald-Hexen, 1938,145 (K 5)
ein Weib für Götter, 1938, 452 (A12)
ein TOR, 1939, 911 (XX11)
glüht nach, 1939, 925 (YY 5)
O! die Gerüchte!, 1939, 1015 (CD 15)
MUMOM sinkt trunken in den Sessel, 1940, 301 (H1)
Schlamm-Assel-Fisch, 1940, 323 (G 3)
Ohne Titel [Gefangen/Diesseits – Jenseits / Figur], vers 1940
Die Kapelle, 1917, 127
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
Die Kapelle, 1917, 127

La chapelle
Aquarelle et détrempe blanche sur papier sur carton, 29,5 x 15 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Chronologiquement, la période d’épanouissement de l’art de Klee est encadrée par les deux grandes guerres du XXe siècle. La Première Guerre mondiale éclate en 1914, trois mois après le légendaire voyage en Tunisie qui lui ouvre les portes de la couleur. La Seconde a commencé depuis moins d’un an quand Klee meurt en 1940 à Muralto. Au moment où il peint Die Kapelle, Klee a été, par bonheur pour lui, mobilisé seulement en tant que secrétaire d’une école de pilotage allemande. Comme artiste, il vole déjà de ses propres ailes : ce feuillet révèle un art parfaitement abouti qui lui permet, grâce à une géométrie rêveuse faite de gradations chromatiques précises et en même temps profondément animées, de remplir le rectangle traditionnel de nouveaux espaces. À partir d’un fond brunâtre, s’élèvent des montagnes et des architectures qui se développent dans l’illusion du volume. Comme les figures d’un jeu de cartes — les lunes en témoignent —, ces bâtiments enchanteurs sont lisibles dans un sens comme dans l’autre.

Tropische Dämmerung, 1921, 128
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
Tropische Dämmerung, 1921, 128

Crépuscule tropical
Huile sur préparation blanche sur papier sur carton, 33,5 x 23 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

vor dem Blitz, 1923,150
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
vor dem Blitz, 1923,150

Avant l'éclair
Aquarelle et mine de plomb sur papier, marges en haut et en bas : gouache, aquarelle et plume sur carton, 28 x 31,5 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Besessenes Mädchen, 1924, 250
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
Besessenes Mädchen, 1924, 250

Jeune fille possédée
Aquarelle et décalque à huile sur papier sur carton, 44,2 x 29,2 cm
Photo: Cantz Medienmanagement, Ostfildern

On a pu voir dans cette feuille la représentation d’une actrice ou d’une cantatrice se ridiculisant involontairement dans l’exercice de son art. L’adjectif « possédé » qui figure dans le titre — « Jeune fille possédée » — possède différentes acceptions, dont celle d’une extase qui conduit le sujet à percevoir des choses inhabituelles. Cette jeune fille ne pourrait-elle pas, en ce sens, être une pythie, une femme chaman en transe, qui montre les dents comme un animal et annonce un mystérieux message ? C’est ce que suggèrent les yeux révulsés et la symétrie solennelle de la figure. Est-ce pour des raisons religieuses qu’on lui a rasé le crâne ? Ou bien dans une clinique psychiatrique ?  En tout état de cause, nous sommes ici en présence d’un discours qui permet d’appréhender des contenus situés au-delà du rationnel — une observation qui vaut pour l’ensemble de l’art de Klee.

Was fehlt ihm?, 1930, 268 (AE 8)
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
Was fehlt ihm?, 1930, 268 (AE 8)

Que lui manque-t-il ?
Dessin timbré à l’encre sur papier Ingres sur carton, 55,5 x 34 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

aufgehender Stern, 1931, 230 (V 10)
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
aufgehender Stern, 1931, 230 (V 10)

Une étoile se lève
Huile sur toile, 63 x 50 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Entre 1930 et 1933, Klee a réalisé de nombreuses œuvres caractérisées par l’utilisation de petits points colorés disposés régulièrement. Il qualifiait ces travaux de « divisionnistes », rapprochant ainsi son mode de travail de ceux de Seurat et de Signac. À la fin du XIXe siècle, ceux-ci avaient créé leurs tableaux à partir de trames de points de couleurs primaires et complémentaires, afin d’utiliser systématiquement la couleur dans le sens des nouvelles théories sur la lumière. Klee se distingue de cette conception postimpressionniste en appliquant ses trames de points sur des surfaces colorées lumineuses, instaurant ainsi une interaction entre différentes membranes chromatiques. Dans Aufgehender Stern, la trame de points, située devant de délicats nuages colorés, est complétée par de petites surfaces délimitées et par des formes linéaires ouvertes. Celles-ci marquent par exemple des horizons sur la partie inférieure, alors qu’en haut, un zigzag représente le trajet  qu’a suivi l’étoile qui se lève au firmament. Le tableau, mémoire du temps — une idée maîtresse de l’art de Klee.

Diana, 1931, 287 (Y 7)
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

 

Paul Klee
Diana, 1931, 287 (Y 7)

Huile sur toile, 80 x 60 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Dans Diana, annonçant déjà les épaisses lignes noires de l’œuvre tardive, les lignes s’associent énergiquement devant la trame de fond d’une obscurité mystique, donnant naissance à des surfaces elles aussi recouvertes de points. Quintessence de la membrane chromatique, elles s’associent pour constituer la figure de la déesse de la chasse qui, tourbillonnant sur une roue, suit vers la gauche une flèche dotée d’un œil. Dans ces deux tableaux, Klee allie le momentané du divisionnisme à sa propre conception du tableau, qu’il traite comme une scène permettant de faire surgir des forces essentielles, intemporelles.

nach der UeberSchwemmung, 1936, 7 (7)
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
nach der UeberSchwemmung, 1936, 7 (7)

Après l’inondation
Peinture à la colle et aquarelle sur papier Ingres sur carton, 47,9 x 62,6 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer; Basel

Paul Klee, angoissé depuis 1933 par la menace politique qui pesait sur la culture européenne, contracta en 1935-1936 une sclérodermie incurable. Ces événements exercèrent visiblement une forte influence sur son œuvre tardive : des surfaces colorées (souvent laissées en réserve blanche dans les travaux sur papier) entretiennent un dialogue avec d’épaisses lignes noires qui, au sein d’un seul et même tableau, peuvent se constituer et se combiner à l’infini : en signes, en figures et en trames abstraites. À travers un unique langage artistique fondamental, Klee est libre désormais d’osciller entre figure, signe et forme pure. Il associe ainsi de façon inédite les éléments artistiques essentiels du langage de l’art moderne. Parmi les tableaux de la Fondation, ce style apparaît pour la première fois dans nach der UeberSchwemmung, une des 25 œuvres seulement que Klee réalisa en 1936, année de crise. Dans ce travail, qui se réfère sans doute aussi à son voyage en Égypte de 1928, les lignes épaisses font l’effet d’une écriture dont la lisibilité n’est que formelle. Elle s’affermit de bas en haut et rythme les couleurs aux sourdes nuances de vase.

Zeichen in Gelb, 1937, 210 (U 10)
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
Zeichen in Gelb, 1937, 210 (U 10)

Signes en jaune
Pastel sur coton sur peinture à la colle sur jute sur châssis, 83,5 x 50,3 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Le style de l’œuvre tardive de Klee, marquée par sa lutte contre une grave maladie et contre des temps de plus en plus sombres, trouve une illustration particulièrement impressionnante dans son œuvre maîtresse de 1937, Zeichen in Gelb, caractérisée par l’équilibre entre lignes épaisses et champs colorés : ici, les signes — plantes, caractères d’écriture, formes — s’assemblent de tous côtés avec des surfaces couvertes de merveilleuses tonalités jaunes et orangées. À l’équilibre parfait entre les pôles traditionnels que sont le dessin et la couleur correspond ici celui de la signification et de l’ouverture : la lisibilité est affranchie dans la libre trajectoire de la forme tandis qu’à l’inverse, la forme sans nom se rapproche d’une signification possible.

Commander le poster dans le shop

boote in der Überflutung, 1937, 222 (V 2)
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
boote in der Überflutung, 1937, 222 (V 2)

Barques dans l'inondation
Peinture à la colle sur papier d'emballage sur carton, 49,5 x 32,5 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Le thème de l’inondation qu’inspira à Klee son voyage en Égypte de 1928 (cf. nach der UeberSchwemmung, 1936), résonne encore dans boote in der Überflutung de 1937, qui fait du reste l’effet d’un souvenir de l’art égyptien. Mais ici, les différents linéaments sont séparés les uns des autres : dans une évolution qui conduirait de signes archaïques à des bateaux très simples, les éléments du paysage reliés par l’eau se constituent de bas en haut.

Halme, 1938, 6 (6)
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
Halme, 1938, 6 (6)

Tiges
Peinture à la colle sur papier sur carton, 50 x 35 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Halme, peint sur papier mais dont l’effet est celui d’une grande toile, date de 1938, une année très féconde malgré la maladie et l’oppression politique. Cette œuvre évoque un jardin pictural : différentes formes de lignes noires semblent conduire le spectateur à travers un labyrinthe de teintes vertes.

die Vase, 1938, 122 (J 2)
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
die Vase, 1938, 122 (J 2)

Le vase
Huile sur jute sur jute, 88 x 54,5 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Wald-Hexen, 1938,145 (K 5)
Add to favorites 

Exposé actuellement à la Fondation Beyeler

Paul Klee
Wald-Hexen, 1938,145 (K 5)

Sorcières de la forêt
Huile sur papier sur jute, 99 x 74 cm

Wald-Hexen est une des œuvres les plus impressionnantes des dernières années de la vie de Klee. Nous voyons se déployer sur un fond vert olive les épaisses lignes noires si typiques de sa création tardive. Leurs entrelacs dessinent des méandres sur toute la surface du tableau et semblent même en franchir les limites. Certains fragments de ces linéaments, dépourvus de lien direct, font peu à peu émerger sous nos yeux les silhouettes de deux « sorcières » : sur la droite, se dresse une figure nue, dont nous distinguons les jambes, le sexe, les seins et la tête avec le visage, tandis qu’à gauche, la seconde nous présente également son visage, pendant que ses jambes, recouvertes d’une robe, exécutent un pas de danse. Bien que certaines des zones chromatiques d’un rouge incandescent liées aux signes sombres facilitent l’identification des mystérieuses formes féminines, Klee nous présente celles-ci comme une vision, qui menace de disparaître aussitôt dans l’enchevêtrement de l’épaisse végétation de lignes noires qui fait l’effet d’un camouflage.

ein Weib für Götter, 1938, 452 (A12)
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
ein Weib für Götter, 1938, 452 (A12)

Une femme pour les dieux
Peinture à la colle et aquarelle sur papier d`emballage sur carton, 44,3 x 60,5 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

La figure féminine d’ein Weib für Götter est singulière. On dirait qu’elle a été introduite de force dans le carré du tableau. Et bien qu’à la différence de Wald-Hexen, elle soit constituée d’une ligne continue, elle est, elle aussi, fragmentée : on ne distingue qu’une  jambe et un bras, dont la main est de surcroît détachée. Cette figure possède par ailleurs un potentiel de métamorphose inquiétant : si on tourne le tableau de 90° dans le sens des aiguilles d’une montre, ses seins apparaissent comme les yeux d’un monstre, la lune rouge devenant une bouche. Quel est ici le véritable objet de la représentation ? Une déesse déformée, enterrée — ou bien une victime humaine (féminine) offerte aux dieux en sacrifice ? Dans la réfraction ironique voulue par l’artiste, cette inquiétante « femme pour les dieux » ne correspond en tout cas pas à l’idée que l’on pourrait se faire d’une élue. Ici, le mythe est caché, inquiétant et mutilé.

ein TOR, 1939, 911 (XX11)
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
ein TOR, 1939, 911 (XX11)

Un porche
Détrempe sur papier Ingres sur carton, 31,6 x 14 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

« Voilà le porche par lequel nous devrons tous passer un jour — la mort », aurait dit le philosophe Martin Heidegger en contemplant ce tableau à la Galerie Beyeler. Cette œuvre, que Klee offrit pour la Noël 1939 au collectionneur bâlois Richard Doetsch-Benziger, avait initialement été entièrement peinte en noir. Lors d’une étape de travail ultérieure, Klee ne laissa de ce noir que ce que nous voyons aujourd’hui sous forme de lignes et ajouta les formes gris argenté de l’architecture et du paysage, ainsi que la lune qui repose sur le mur du porche. En cette année de déclenchement de la guerre, peu avant sa mort, Klee fait voir la membrane fondamentale cachée  qui enserre tout et qui, seule, prête leurs contours aux objets représentés. Elle apparaît ici effectivement en noir — un noir qu’éclaire pourtant encore une lumière argentée.

glüht nach, 1939, 925 (YY 5)
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
glüht nach, 1939, 925 (YY 5)

Brûle encore
Aquarelle et mine de plomb sur papier sur carton, 29,5 x 21 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Dans la lumineuse aquarelle glüht nach, la figure encore à peine identifiable semble sur le point de se désagréger en différentes parties : tête repliée vers le bas, torse et jambes séparés des épaules, la figure se dresse sur l’espace de souffrance du tableau. La ligne isolée à gauche, qui ressemble à un « K », pourrait être interprétée comme la première lettre du nom de l’artiste — permettant de considérer cette petite figure comme l’image même de l’artiste, torturé par la maladie et par les événements historiques. Mais ce n’est qu’une des possibilités qu’offre ce tableau à forte charge existentielle. En tout cas, la vie continue d’y brûler — conformément au message du titre —, elle n’est pas complètement éteinte.

O! die Gerüchte!, 1939, 1015 (CD 15)
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
O! die Gerüchte!, 1939, 1015 (CD 15)

Oh! les rumeurs!
Détrempe et huile sur jute, 75,5 x 55 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Vers la fin de la vie de Klee, le contenu existentiel de son art s’affirme davantage. Deux axes temporels se croisent — et s’unissent fréquemment : celui de sa longue maladie, qui conduit à sa mort le 29 juin 1940, et celui des événements politiques qui atteignent un nouveau point culminant le 1er décembre 1939, avec le début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Dans O ! die Gerüchte, la menace est clairement perceptible : sur un fond vacillant, nous voyons une figure qui se dirige vers la droite, bras levés, entourée de petits animaux inquiétants. Elle est constituée d’épaisses lignes noires et est accompagnée de champs colorés aux contrastes accusés : en bleu les yeux écarquillés, en rouge la bouche, en orange les oreilles en haut à gauche, dans lesquelles résonnent les sinistres rumeurs du temps. La figure est en mouvement — elle ne peut pas s’échapper, elle ne peut que se heurter au bord du tableau qui l’enferme. Une image d’angoisse — et en même temps une œuvre dans laquelle, en dépit de l’adversité, une grande force artistique trouve son accomplissement.

MUMOM sinkt trunken in den Sessel, 1940, 301 (H1)
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
MUMOM sinkt trunken in den Sessel, 1940, 301 (H1)

MUMON, ivre, se laisse tomber sur son siège
Peinture à la colle sur papier sur carton, 29,5 x 21 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Le dessin MUMOM sinkt trunken in den Sessel, d’aspect presque burlesque et qui se caractérise par de puissantes lignes noires, date de 1940, année de la mort de Klee. Les linéaments de l’œuvre tardive y affirment clairement leur caractère graphique. La petite silhouette représentée ici possède une certaine majesté, caricaturée avec humour mais pourtant pleine de sagesse ; levant son verre, elle se tourne avec un certain esprit dionysiaque vers les choses ultimes.

Schlamm-Assel-Fisch, 1940, 323 (G 3)
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
Schlamm-Assel-Fisch, 1940, 323 (G 3)

Poisson-cloporte-boueux
Peinture à la colle et craie grasse sur papier journal sur carton, 34 x 53,5 cm
Photo: Cantz Medienmanagement, Ostfildern

Ce sentiment d’immobilité forcée marque également Schlamm-Assel-Fisch qui date de 1940, l’année de la mort de Klee. Ici, les lignes noires dessinent un squelette de poisson et en même temps un arthropode, un cloporte, identifiable à ses sept paires de pattes et à ses deux pointes caudales. Ce mimétisme est renforcé par le jeu de mots contenu dans le titre, qui associe en même temps les deux animaux sous le terme yiddish désignant le désastre, « Schlamassel ». Remarquons encore les points sur la marge du tableau, qui évoquent les clous servant à tendre la toile sur le châssis. Le tableau est pourtant peint sur papier. Klee a pu penser ici au fossile d’un hybride primitif, se mouvant entre terre et eau, en même temps qu’à lui-même, artiste embourbé dans la fange d’un désastre politique et personnel, mais luttant énergiquement contre l’inactivité.

Ohne Titel [Gefangen/Diesseits – Jenseits / Figur], vers 1940
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Paul Klee
Ohne Titel [Gefangen/Diesseits – Jenseits / Figur], vers 1940

Sans titre [Captif /En deçà – au-delà /Figure]
Huile, dessin en réserve avec peinture à la colle sur jute préparé à la colle sur jute, 55,2 x 50,1 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Une œuvre provenant de la succession de l’artiste à laquelle il ne fut plus en mesure de donner de titre possède une importance toute particulière pour la Fondation. Sur un impressionnant fond bleu et vert parcouru de nuages blancs, on distingue une figure constituée d’épaisses lignes noires, au regard méditatif, intériorisé. Elle donne l’impression de faire partie intégrante de la structure grillagée qui la tient. Will Grohmann, ami de Klee et exégète précoce de son œuvre, a intitulé cette œuvre Gefangen (Captif). Mais la grille est percée de brèches et la libération de la figure vers la matrice du fond semble n’être plus qu’une question de temps. Cette œuvre pourrait donc également représenter le seuil entre la vie et la mort, ce qui a incité Ernst Beyeler à proposer le titre Diesseits – Jenseits — Ici-bas, au-delà.

Paul Klee

1879, Münchenbuchsee près de Berne – 1940, Locarno-Muralto

Le peintre et graveur germano-suisse a d’abord entrepris des études d’art à Munich, qu’il interrompt rapidement pour étudier les vieux maîtres italiens et découvrir à Paris les œuvres des impressionnistes. Ses relations avec Macke, Kandinsky et Marc vers 1911 ont été une source d’inspiration majeure en matière de couleur et de contraste. S’y ajoute la découverte des œuvres de Delaunay. Un voyage à Tunis avec Macke et Moilliet en 1914 l’aide à accomplir la « percée vers la couleur ». Il compose ses aquarelles comme des partitions à partir de plans colorés géométriques transparents, de motifs de lignes et de formes figuratives, et leur attribue des titres poétiques qui éveillent de multiples associations. En 1919, il se tourne vers la peinture à l’huile et vers des thèmes cosmiques. Il enseigne au Bauhaus à Weimar et à Dessau à partir de 1921. En 1924, il fonde avec Kandinsky, Feininger et Jawlensky le groupe Die Blaue Vier (« les Quatre bleus »). En 1930, il est nommé à l’Académie de Düsseldorf, un poste qu’il est contraint de quitter en 1933 à la suite de l’arrivée des nazis au pouvoir. Il réside à Berne et Locarno jusqu’à sa mort.

Station