Max Ernst

Max Ernst
Fleurs de neige, 1929
Oiseau-tête, 1934/35
The King Playing with the Queen, 1944
Moonmad, 1944
Humboldt Current, 1951/52
Naissance d’une galaxie, 1969
Swampangel, 1940
Fleurs de neige, 1929
Add to favorites 
Currently not on show
Max Ernst
Fleurs de neige, 1929
Snow FlowersOil on canvas, 130 x 130 cmPhoto: Robert Bayer, Basel
Fleurs de neige was produced in Paris, at a point in time when Ernst was the most important of the Surrealist artists. The picture employs as its background three geometric planes in blackish green, black and blue, which can also be read as a simple landscape situation with two hills and a night sky. Blossoming on the two dark ‘hills’, like crystalline apparitions in an inner universe, are the wondrous snow flowers of the title, which Ernst has created with the aid of unusual artistic techniques (grattage, frottage and the use of a painter’s comb). The composition is complemented by two other motifs: lower right, the small image of a bird family used by Ernst as his personal emblem and with which he proclaims himself part of this distant world of flowers, and a small blue globe floating alone in the blue field – an image of a remote planet, not dissimilar to Earth?
Oiseau-tête, 1934/35
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Max Ernst
Oiseau-tête, 1934/35

Bird-Head
Bronze, one of nine casts, 52.5 x 37.5 x 24.6 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Alongside Picasso, Miró, Matisse and Kelly, the great ‘painter-sculptors’ in the Fondation Beyeler also include Max Ernst, three of whose sculptures are represented in the collection. The earliest of these is the bronze Oiseau-tête (Bird-head), which consists of a flat face on ‘legs’ – a cephalopod, in other words. Projecting from its forehead is the head of a bird with an open beak. The work resembles a bizarre hybrid creature from the realm of fantasy that has suddenly materialized in front of us. Ernst was acquainted with such visitors from ‘beyond’ and frequently kept company with a bird figure called Loplop, which he described as his ‘private phantom’. In combining a flat base panel with a face in low relief and a three-dimensional bird’s head, Oiseau-tête describes the transition from the flat surface of the picture to the spatial volume of sculpture and thereby highlights the process by which the creature assumes increasing form.

The King Playing with the Queen, 1944
Add to favorites 

Currentyl not on show

Max Ernst
The King Playing with the Queen, 1944

Original plaster cast, 102 x 88 x 55 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

The work – the original plaster model of a group later reproduced in bronze – shows a menacing-looking horned figure who recalls the Minotaur in his mythical, archaic appearance. He is seated at a chessboard and is playing: having just taken a piece with his left hand, he is reaching for the queen with his right hand in order to move her out of the way. Only on closer examination does it become clear that the large figure is himself also one of the pieces in this game of chess – a game that particularly fascinated Ernst. It is the king, who is playing with the queen and at the same time with himself.

Moonmad, 1944
Add to favorites 
Currently not on show
Max Ernst
Moonmad, 1944
Bronze, one of ten casts, 92.6 x 32.1 x 29.8 cmPhoto: Peter Schibli, Basel
Moonmad was created in 1944 in America, following Ernst’s escape into exile, and was originally modelled in plaster. A number of years later it was then cast in bronze. The figure is made up of forms that show the moon in various phases. The surreally somnambulant state of ‘moon madness’ thus becomes a figuration that embodies this mental disposition.
Humboldt Current, 1951/52
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Max Ernst
Humboldt Current, 1951/52

Oil on canvas, 36 x 61 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Humboldt Current is dedicated to a cold current in the Pacific Ocean. Ernst placed the canvas on top of a wooden board during painting and allowed the grain to become part of the composition. Thus Nature herself has a direct hand in the work. The current gleams coolly in the nocturnal sea – accompanied across the water by a full moon that makes the painting feel reminiscent of the Romantic era.

Order poster in the shop

Naissance d’une galaxie, 1969
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Max Ernst
Naissance d’une galaxie, 1969

Birth of a Galaxy
Oil on canvas, 92 x 73 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Naissance d’une galaxie (Birth of a galaxy) was created in the year of the first moon landing. Man had conquered the lunar symbol of the yearnings of Romanticism (a cultural epoch so important for Ernst) and found only empty, rocky silence. As if by way of a replacement, Ernst allows a new galaxy, its circular disc patterned with dots, to arise out of the nebula of primeval forms inhabiting the lower border of the picture. This galaxy is located in the imagination – and in the picture seen here. Entirely in keeping with Ernst’s fantastical natural history, the eternal, ethereal realm and the here and now of artistic invention converge in the moment of this picture.

Order poster in the shop

Swampangel, 1940
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Max Ernst
Swampangel, 1940

Oil on canvas
Wooden frame covered in velvet by the artist, 65 x 81 cm
Beyeler-Stiftung, gift of Ulla and Richard Dreyfus-Best

Max Ernst

1891, Brühl (Rhineland) – 1976, Paris The German-French painter and printmaker took up painting while studying psychology and art history in Bonn, and initially experimented with Expressionist, Cubist and Futurist styles. In 1912 he first exhibited with the Rhineland Expressionists, and in 1913 he was represented at the First German Autumn Salon in Berlin. In 1916, while on leave from the front during the war, he got to know the Berlin Dadaists; this encounter led him to found a Dada group in Cologne three years later, together with Jean Arp. In 1922 he moved to Paris, where he joined the Surrealists. In tune with the “écriture automatique” they were propagating, Ernst developed collages, invented the graphic techniques of ‘frottage’ and ‘grattage’ and made sculptures based on found objects. His visionary cosmogonies can be regarded as continuing the traditions of Grünewald and Bosch.

Station

Max Ernst

Max Ernst
Fleurs de neige, 1929
Oiseau-tête, 1934/35
The King Playing with the Queen, 1944
Moonmad, 1944
Humboldt Current, 1951/52
Naissance d’une galaxie, 1969
Swampangel, 1940
Fleurs de neige, 1929
Add to favorites 

Exposé actuellement à la  Fondation Beyeler

Max Ernst
Fleurs de neige, 1929

Huile sur toile, 130 x 130 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Les Fleurs de neige ont été exécutées à Paris, à l’époque où Ernst était le principal représentant du surréalisme. L’arrière-plan du tableau présente trois surfaces géométriques dans des teintes vert noir, noir et bleu, que l’on peut également interpréter comme les éléments d’un paysage très simple, avec deux collines et un ciel nocturne. Sur les deux « collines » sombres, Ernst a employé des techniques insolites (grattage, frottage, travail au peigne) pour faire éclore de merveilleuses fleurs de neige qui font l’effet de phénomènes cristallins dans un univers intérieur. Deux autres motifs complètent le tableau : en bas à droite, la petite image d’une famille d’oiseaux, emblème personnel de l’artiste à travers lequel il s’inscrit lui-même dans ce lointain monde floral, et une petite boule bleue qui plane, seule, en haut, dans le champ bleu – image d’une planète lointaine, assez semblable à la terre ?

Oiseau-tête, 1934/35
Add to favorites 

Exposé actuellement au Centre de la Vieille Charité à Marseille

Max Ernst
Oiseau-tête, 1934/35

Bronze, une fonte sur 9, 52,5 x 37,5 x 24,6 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Avec Picasso, Miró, Matisse et Kelly, Ernst fait partie des grands « peintres sculpteurs » de la Fondation, qui abrite trois de ses sculptures. L’œuvre la plus ancienne, le bronze intitulé Oiseau-tête, est formée d’un visage plat posé sur des « jambes » – un céphalopode, donc –, dont le front laisse surgir une tête d’oiseau au bec ouvert. Cette œuvre évoque un hybride bouffon, issu de l’imagination, et qui apparaît réellement devant nous. Ernst connaissait bien ces invités « venus d’ailleurs » et entretenait des relations avec une figure d’oiseau baptisée « Loplop », qu’il présentait comme son « fantôme privé ». En associant une surface de fond plane, un visage légèrement en relief et une tête d’oiseau entièrement en volume, l’artiste souligne dans Oiseau-tête le processus de la présence croissante de cette créature, en représentant le passage de la planéité du tableau à la spatialité de la sculpture.

The King Playing with the Queen, 1944
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Max Ernst
The King Playing with the Queen, 1944

Le roi joue avec la reine
Plâtre original, 102 x 88 x 55 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Cette œuvre – il s’agit du plâtre original d’une sculpture reproduite en bronze — présente une créature cornue d’allure menaçante, dont l’aspect mythique et archaïque évoque le Minotaure. Assise devant un échiquier, elle joue. Elle vient de prendre un pion de la main gauche et s’apprête à se débarrasser de la reine de la main droite. Il faut un certain temps pour découvrir que cette grande créature elle-même est une figure d’échecs, un jeu qui fascinait tout particulièrement Ernst. C’est le roi, qui joue avec la reine et en même temps avec lui-même.

Moonmad, 1944
Add to favorites 

Exposé actuellement à la  Fondation Beyeler

Max Ernst
Moonmad, 1944

Somnambule
Bronze, une fonte sur 10,
92,6 x 32,1 x 29,8 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Moonmad – « Somnambule » — a vu le jour en 1944 pendant l’exil américain d’Ernst, qui en a d’abord réalisé une version en plâtre ; le bronze a été coulé plusieurs années plus tard. Cette sculpture se compose de plusieurs formes liées en différentes figures de la lune. L’état de sommeil éveillé surréel du « somnambulisme » se transforme ainsi en une figuration incarnant cette disposition.

Humboldt Current, 1951/52
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Max Ernst
Humboldt Current, 1951/52

Le courant de Humboldt
Huile sur toile, 36 x 61 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Humboldt Current est consacré à un courant froid de l’océan Pacifique. Ernst a tendu sa toile sur une planche de bois, dont les veinures sont devenues partie intégrante de la composition. La nature devient ici la collaboratrice directe de l’œuvre d’art. Le courant rayonne d’une lueur froide dans la mer nocturne — accompagné à la surface de l’eau par une pleine lune, qui transforme le tableau en réminiscence de l’époque romantique.

Commander le poster dans le shop

Naissance d’une galaxie, 1969
Add to favorites 

Currentyl not on show

Max Ernst
Naissance d’une galaxie, 1969

Huile sur toile, 92 x 73 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Naissance d’une galaxie a vu le jour l’année où l’homme a posé le pied sur la lune. Il avait ainsi conquis l’astre du désir cher au romantisme (une époque culturelle essentielle pour Ernst), et n’y avait trouvé qu’un silence désertique et rocailleux. Comme en guise de substitut, Ernst fait naître à partir des formes archaïques et nébuleuses de la marge inférieure du tableau le cercle tramé d’une nouvelle galaxie, qui se situe dans l’imagination — et sur ce tableau. Dans l’esprit de l’histoire naturelle fantastique d’Ernst, l’éternité de la sphère et le présent de la création artistique se rencontrent dans le moment du tableau.

Commander le poster dans le shop

Swampangel, 1940
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Max Ernst
Swampangel, 1940

Huile sur toile
Cadre en bois recouvert de velours par l'artiste, 65 x 81 cm
Beyeler-Stiftung, don d'Ulla et Richard Dreyfus-Best

Max Ernst

1891, Brühl/Rhénanie – 1976, Paris

C’est pendant qu’il étudie notamment la psychologie et l’histoire de l’art à Bonn, que le peintre et graveur franco-allemand commence à peindre et à s’essayer à des modes de création expressionnistes, cubistes et futuristes. Il expose pour la première fois en 1912 avec les Expressionnistes rhénans et est représenté en 1913 au Premier Salon d’automne allemand, à Berlin. En 1916, au cours d’une permission, il fait la connaissance des dadaïstes berlinois. Trois ans plus tard, il fonde avec Jean Arp un groupe dada à Cologne. En 1922, il s’installe à Paris, où il rejoint les surréalistes. Il transpose l’« écriture automatique » de ces derniers en collages, frottages, grattages et sculptures, prenant pour point de départ des objets trouvés. Ses cosmogonies visionnaires se rattachent à la tradition de Grünewald et de Bosch.

Station