Henri Matisse

Henri Matisse
Jeannette IV, 1911
Jardin à Issy (L’atelier à Clamart), um 1917
Jeune femme assise en robe de résille, 1939
Océanie, la mer, 1946/47
Océanie, le ciel, 1946/47
Algue blanche sur fond rouge et vert, 1947
Intérieur à la fougère noire, 1948
Nu bleu I, 1952
Nu bleu, la grenouille, 1952
Acanthes, 1953
Jeannette IV, 1911
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Henri Matisse
Jeannette IV, 1911

Bronze, cast 1/10, F. Costenoble, Fondeur Paris, 61 x 23 x 28 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Matisse displayed the evolution of his art again and again in series of pictures and sculptures, whereby his primary concern was to document a continual movement away from the natural model towards abstraction. The present bust is one of a series of five portraits of the model Jeanne Vaderin, made between 1910 and 1913. While the first two portrait heads still closely reflect her real-life appearance, the three thereafter grow increasingly abstract. Jeannette IV gives the impression of being composed of three-dimensional blocks: base, upper chest, neck, head and hair. Matisse is here reacting to Cubism’s dissection and new construction of pictorial matter.

Jardin à Issy (L’atelier à Clamart), um 1917
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Henri Matisse
Jardin à Issy (L’atelier à Clamart), um 1917

The Garden at Issy (The Studio in Clamart)
Oil on canvas, 130.5 x 89.5 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

The painting offers a view of Matisse’s garden at Issy-les-Moulineaux, where the artist had bought a house for himself and his family in 1909. In 1917, the year he produced this picture, Matisse was becoming ever more abstract, ever more radical in his pictorial compositions – an artistic phase during which the oppressive reality of the First World War may have played a role. Only a few recognizable details are shown – the house, the suggestion of trees and a fountain in the foreground. The garden is essentially represented as a system of interlocking planes, which are bounded by segments of circles. These forms cast shadows on the brownish red ground, lending the painting a strange sense of depth.

Jeune femme assise en robe de résille, 1939
Add to favorites 

Currently exhibited at the Palazzo dei Diamanti in Ferrara

Henri Matisse
Jeune femme assise en robe de résille, 1939

Seated Young Woman in Net Dress
Charcoal on paper, 66.2 x 51 cm
Photo: Cantz Medienmanagement, Ostfildern

In 1935 Lydia Delectorskaya became Matisse’s most important model and his muse. Ever in search of absolute harmony in a consummate décoration, the painter was powerfully struck by her long-limbed body and the shape of her face. Lydia was not only the inspiration behind a number of his major paintings but also influenced his style of draughtsmanship. In the drawings that he made of her, Matisse further developed his astounding ability to infuse every line with expression and to convey the three-dimensional body in just a few strokes. A particular feature of this work is the way in which Matisse has combined the use of charcoal with a smudging technique to invest his drawing with painterly expression.

Océanie, la mer, 1946/47
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Henri Matisse
Océanie, la mer, 1946/47

Oceania, the Sea
Screenprint on linen, 4/30, 173.5 x 387.5 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Océanie, le ciel, 1946/47
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Henri Matisse
Océanie, le ciel, 1946/47

Oceania, the Sky
Screenprint on linen, 4/30,173 x 364 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Algue blanche sur fond rouge et vert, 1947
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Henri Matisse
Algue blanche sur fond rouge et vert, 1947

White Algae on Red and Green Background
Paper cutouts painted in gouache glued on paper, 52.5 x 40.5 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Intérieur à la fougère noire, 1948
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Henri Matisse
Intérieur à la fougère noire, 1948

Interior with Black Fern
Oil on canvas, 116.5 x 89.5 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Interior with black fern is one of the last pictures that Matisse painted prior to turning his attention almost exclusively to papiers découpés. Here he has arrived at a harmony of figure, objects, interior and exterior space. Various zones of colour are juxtaposed: the red wallpaper with its regular geometric pattern, the yellow carpet dotted with black, the green disc of the table bearing a vase that is also patterned with dots, and the black providing the ground for the artist’s signature. The woman on the left has no individuality; the white of her dress and the pink of her skin play a crucial role in the picture’s composition. The link between the exterior glimpsed above right, where we can make out a tree, and the interior is provided by the fern, which is seen against the light and consequently appears black. This work underlines a distinctive characteristic of Matisse’s painting: his pictures possess a rhythm that arises not just out of the movement of his painting hand but also from the relationship between the parts of the picture, which seems to obey laws similar to a musical structure.

Nu bleu I, 1952
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Henri Matisse
Nu bleu I, 1952

Blue Nude I
Paper cutouts painted in gouache glued on paper on canvas, 106 x 78 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Nu bleu, la grenouille, 1952
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Henri Matisse
Nu bleu, la grenouille, 1952

Blue Nude, the Frog
Paper cutouts painted in gouache glued on paper on canvas, 141 x 134 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Acanthes, 1953
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Henri Matisse
Acanthes, 1953

Acanthuses
Charcoal and paper cutouts painted in gouache glued on paper on canvas, 311 x 350.5 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Henri Matisse
Henri Matisse

1869, Le Cateau-Cambrésis (France) – 1954, Nice

The French painter, sculptor and printmaker studied art in Paris at the Académie Julian and the École des Beaux-Arts. Around 1900 he produced his first sculptures; at the same time, under the influence of Monet, Cézanne and Gauguin, he began painting in pure, luminous colour. As a leading figure of the Fauvist circle, Matisse caused a sensation with the works he showed at the Autumn Salon in Paris. In 1906, after returning from a journey to Algeria, he produced his first woodcuts and lithographs. From early on he sought to transform three-dimensional, corporeal phenomena into flat, decorative designs. Initially, his interiors and still lifes combined three-dimensional, realistic forms and figures with ornamental arabesques. After the incisive experience of seeing an exhibition of Islamic art in Munich in 1910, followed by a trip to Morocco in 1912, he began painting solely flat areas of colour. He aspired to a form of spiritual art which was infused with peace and harmony, and which everyone would be able to partake in. In the late 1920s he turned increasingly to mural and architectural painting. In 1948 he embarked on his first paper collages, called “gouaches découpées”; over four years, from 1947 to 1951, he painted murals and designed decorations for the interior of the Chapelle du Rosaire in the southern French town of Vence.

Station

Henri Matisse

Henri Matisse
Jeannette IV, 1911
Jardin à Issy (L’atelier à Clamart), vers 1917
Jeune femme assise en robe de résille, 1939
Océanie, la mer, 1946/47
Océanie, le ciel, 1946/47
Algue blanche sur fond rouge et vert, 1947
Intérieur à la fougère noire, 1948
Nu bleu I, 1952
Nu bleu, la grenouille, 1952
Acanthes, 1953
Jeannette IV, 1911
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Henri Matisse
Jeannette IV, 1911

Bronze, exemplaire 1/10, F. Costenoble
Fondeur Paris, 61 x 23 x 28 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Les séries de tableaux et de sculptures de Matisse témoignent de l’évolution de son art, sa préoccupation majeure ayant été d’aller toujours plus loin dans l’abstraction par rapport au modèle naturel. Ce buste fait partie d’une série de cinq portraits du modèle Jeanne Vaderin exécutés entre 1910 et 1913. Alors que les deux premières têtes restent encore très proches de l’apparence réelle de la jeune femme, les trois bustes suivants sont de plus en plus abstraits. Jeannette IV semble composée de plusieurs blocs : le socle, l’amorce de la poitrine, le cou, la tête et les cheveux. Matisse réagissait ainsi à la dissolution et à la reconstruction de la figure par le cubisme.

Jardin à Issy (L’atelier à Clamart), vers 1917
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Henri Matisse
Jardin à Issy (L’atelier à Clamart), vers 1917

Huile sur toile, 130,5 x 89,5 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Cette toile représente la vue du jardin de la maison d’Issy-les-Moulineaux que Matisse a achetée pour sa famille et pour lui-même en 1909. En 1917, l’année où il a peint cette œuvre, Matisse explorait des compositions d’une abstraction et d’un radicalisme croissants.  Sans doute l’expérience accablante de la Première  Guerre mondiale ne fut-elle pas étrangère à cette évolution. Seuls quelques détails restent identifiables : la maison, l’ébauche d’arbres et une fontaine au premier plan. Le jardin est essentiellement représenté comme un système de surfaces imbriquées les unes dans les autres, délimitées par des segments de cercle qui projettent des ombres sur le fond brun rouge et prêtent à la toile une spatialité singulière.

Jeune femme assise en robe de résille, 1939
Add to favorites 

Exposé actuellement au Palazzo dei Diamanti à Ferrara

Henri Matisse
Jeune femme assise en robe de résille, 1939

Fusain sur papier, 66,2 x 51 cm
Photo: Cantz Medienmanagement, Ostfildern

En 1935, Lydia Delectorskaya devient le modèle de prédilection et la muse de Matisse. Son corps aux membres allongés et la forme de son visage font une puissante impression sur le peintre, toujours en quête de l’harmonie absolue dans une « décoration » parfaite. Lydia ne lui inspire pas seulement des toiles majeures, elle influence également le style de ses dessins. Matisse y poursuit le développement du talent fabuleux qui lui permet de conférer à chaque ligne une expression remarquable et de représenter les corps en volume à l’aide de quelques traits. Cette feuille a ceci de singulier que Matisse a su lui prêter une expression picturale par l’utilisation du fusain et de l’estompe.

Océanie, la mer, 1946/47
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Henri Matisse
Océanie, la mer, 1946/47

Sérigraphie sur lin à partir de papiers découpés, exemplaire 4/30, 173,5 x 387,5 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Océanie, le ciel, 1946/47
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Henri Matisse
Océanie, le ciel, 1946/47

Sérigraphie sur lin à partir de papiers découpés, exemplaire 4/30,173 x 364 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Algue blanche sur fond rouge et vert, 1947
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Henri Matisse
Algue blanche sur fond rouge et vert, 1947

Papiers découpés peints à la gouache sur papier, 52,5 x 40,5 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Intérieur à la fougère noire, 1948
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Henri Matisse
Intérieur à la fougère noire, 1948

Huile sur toile, 116,5 x 89,5 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Intérieur à la fougère noire est l’un des derniers tableaux que Matisse a peints avant de se consacrer presque exclusivement aux papiers découpés. Il instaure ici une harmonie entre figure, objets, pièce et espace extérieur. On voit s’assembler différentes zones chromatiques : un papier peint rouge orné d’un motif géométrique régulier, un tapis jaune à pois noirs, le cercle vert de la table, le vase, à pois lui aussi, le noir qui sert de fond à la signature. La femme de gauche n’a aucune individualité : le blanc de sa robe et le rose de sa peau sont déterminants pour la composition du tableau. Le lien entre l’espace extérieur esquissé en haut à droite — on peut identifier un arbre — et l’espace intérieur est constitué par la fougère, représentée à contre-jour et qui apparaît donc en noir. Une spécificité de la peinture de Matisse se révèle ici : le rythme de ses tableaux ne doit pas tout à la main qui peint. Le rapport entre les différentes parties de la toile semble répondre à des lois analogues à celles d’une structure musicale.

Nu bleu I, 1952
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Henri Matisse
Nu bleu I, 1952

Papiers découpés peints à la gouache sur papier sur toile, 106 x 78 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Nu bleu, la grenouille, 1952
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Henri Matisse
Nu bleu, la grenouille, 1952

Papiers découpés peints à la gouache sur papier sur toile, 141 x 134 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Acanthes, 1953
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Henri Matisse
Acanthes, 1953

Fusain, papiers découpés peints à la gouache sur papier sur toile, 311 x 350,5 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Henri Matisse
Henri Matisse

1869, Cateau – 1954, Nice

Le peintre, sculpteur et graveur français a fait ses études à Paris, notamment à l’Académie Julian et à l’École des Beaux-Arts. Vers 1900, il réalise ses premières sculptures, et commence à peindre en couleurs pures et éclatantes, sous l’influence de Monet, Cézanne et Gauguin. Au Salon d’Automne, il attire tout particulièrement l’attention comme chef de file des Fauves. Après un voyage en Algérie en 1906, il réalise ses premières gravures sur bois et lithographies. Il cherche de bonne heure à traduire le spatial et le corporel en éléments plans, décoratifs. Dans ses intérieurs et ses natures mortes, des formes et des figures réalistes en volume côtoient tout d’abord des motifs en arabesques. Après l’expérience déterminante de l’exposition sur l’Islam de Munich en 1910 et un voyage au Maroc en 1912, il se consacre exclusivement à la peinture plane. Il aspire à un art sacré empreint de calme et d’harmonie, auquel tous puissent avoir accès. À la fin des années 1920, il se tourne vers la peinture murale et architecturale. Ses premières « gouaches découpées » voient le jour à partir de 1948. Entre 1947 et 1951, il réalise les peintures de Chapelle du Rosaire à Vence.

Station