Georg Baselitz

Georg Baselitz
Verschiedene Zeichen, 1965
Weg vom Fenster, 1982
Verschiedene Zeichen, 1965
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Georg Baselitz
Verschiedene Zeichen, 1965

Various Signs
Oil on canvas, 162.5 x 130 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

One of the most striking features of art after 1960 is the return of figural representation. Georg Baselitz’s Verschiedene Zeichen (Various signs) needs the human figure because the work seeks to show limitation as opposed to the unbounded colour spaces of abstraction. A young man – a mark on his forehead, one hand bleeding in a trap, the other holding the palette, obstructed by a grotesque fence but with his whole upper body nevertheless towering up unimpeded above the horizon – is looking up and into the distance. Firmly mired in history, he nevertheless wishes to make art and rid himself of the constraints on his creativity.

Weg vom Fenster, 1982
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Georg Baselitz
Weg vom Fenster, 1982

Out of the Game
Oil on canvas, 250 x 250 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

In 1969 Georg Baselitz took a step that remains provocative even today. He began painting his figural motifs upside down, simply in order to free himself from the conventions traditionally governing the representation of the human form, and to prove that it is no less convincing to depict the human figure as part of the history of painting. His Weg vom Fenster (Out of the game) is a powerful image: influenced by Munch, it reveals to us on the right the full expressive potential of the human figure and, on the left, the swirling potency of pure colour, which accompanies the inverted figure like a shadow.

Georg Baselitz
Georg Baselitz
Georg Baselitz

b. (as Georg Kern) in 1938, Deutschbaselitz

The German painter, printmaker and sculptor confronted the art world in the early 1960s with large-format, expressively coloured, figurative paintings. He was inspired by the painting style of Lovis Corinth and the Expressionists. He found his artistic hallmark in 1969, when he broke with all convention and turned his landscapes, portraits and nudes upside down. The effect was to negate pictorial space and bring the materiality of paint and the dynamic energy of the painterly gesture to the fore. Materiality is also the overriding artistic concern in the roughly hewn and occasionally painted wooden sculptures he has produced since the late 1970s. His most recent works (called the “Russian Paintings”) offer an experimental, ironic perspective upon iconic works of Socialist Realism from the period of his youth.

Station

Georg Baselitz

Georg Baselitz
Verschiedene Zeichen, 1965
Weg vom Fenster, 1982
Verschiedene Zeichen, 1965
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Georg Baselitz
Verschiedene Zeichen, 1965

Signes divers
Huile sur toile, 162,5 x 130 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

Le retour du figuratif est l’un des phénomènes les plus marquants de l’art postérieur à 1960. Verschiedene Zeichen de Georg Baselitz a besoin de la figure humaine, parce que l’œuvre s’attache à montrer une limitation, par opposition aux champs chromatiques incommensurables des abstraits. Un jeune homme regarde vers le haut et vers le lointain – une marque sur le front, une main ensanglantée prise dans un piège, l’autre sur la palette, enfermé par une palissade grotesque, mais le torse s’élevant librement au-dessus de l’horizon. Il est enfoncé dans l’histoire et pourtant, il cherche à réaliser une œuvre d’art et à faire éclater ses limites par l’acte de création.

Weg vom Fenster, 1982
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Georg Baselitz
Weg vom Fenster, 1982

À l'écart de la fenêtre
Huile sur toile, 250 x 250 cm
Photo: Peter Schibli, Basel

En 1969, Georg Baselitz accomplit une démarche qui n’a rien perdu de sa force de provocation. Sans renoncer au figuratif, il peint ses motifs la tête en bas, simplement pour se libérer de la routine de la représentation traditionnelle de l’être humain et prouver qu’il est tout aussi convaincant de présenter l’homme comme un élément de l’histoire de la peinture. Son Weg vom Fenster est un tableau puissant : influencé par Munch, il nous révèle à droite tout le potentiel expressif de la figure humaine et à gauche la puissance tourbillonnante de la couleur pure, qui accompagne la figure comme une ombre.

Georg Baselitz
Georg Baselitz
Georg Baselitz

Né sous le nom de Georg Kern, 1938, Deutschbaselitz

Le peintre, graveur et sculpteur allemand s’oppose au monde artistique du début des années 1960 par des tableaux figuratifs et colorés de grand format. Il a pour sources d’inspiration le style pictural de Corinth et des expressionnistes. C’est en 1969 qu’il définit sa véritable marque de fabrique artistique, en rompant avec les conventions picturales et en représentant ses paysages, ses portraits et ses nus à l’envers, tête en bas. L’espace pictural se trouve ainsi abrogé tandis que la matérialité de la couleur et le geste pictural se voient placés au premier plan. Ses sculptures sur bois grossièrement équarries et partiellement peintes, auxquelles il se consacre depuis la fin des années 1970, accordent également une place privilégiée à la matérialité. Dans ses tableaux les plus récents (les « Russenbilder »), il détourne le patrimoine iconographique socialiste de sa jeunesse.

Station