Antoni Tàpies

Antoni Tàpies
Relleu negre per a Documenta, 1964
Ecriture sur le mur, 1971
Relleu negre per a Documenta, 1964
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Antoni Tàpies
Relleu negre per a Documenta, 1964

Black Relief for the Documenta
Mixed media on canvas, 275 x 230 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Painted in the grim climate of the Franco dictatorship, this grey-black painting resembles a dark, charred wall (Tàpies describes it as a “relief”) which does more than merely appear to be made of paint, sand, ash and silence. At any rate, Black relief for the documenta is more than just a painted background on which a proficient artist has left traces in paint – be it with a brush or as ‘drippings’ à la Pollock. Instead, Tàpies has chosen to make marks by scratching into the body of the painted surface. In their archaic simplicity they may be read as purely abstract markings – or as lines that distinguish a floor from two walls and a ceiling, delineating a corner whose blackness holds us inescapably captive.

Ecriture sur le mur, 1971
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Antoni Tàpies
Ecriture sur le mur, 1971

Graffiti on the Wall
Mixed media on canvas, 270 x 200 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

In Graffiti on the wall, masterful elegance has joined the archaic speechlessness of the Fondation’s earlier work by Tàpies. Rich structures meet the eye, evidence of scratched, painted, blurred endeavour. Here, the wall yields a harvest of traces that suggest the presence of people, the chronicle of human lives as recorded by the artist who, following in Klee’s and Miró’s footsteps, is capable of reading and – acting in our stead – articulating them.

Antoni Tàpies
Antoni Tàpies

1923, Barcelona - 2012, Barcelona

The Catalan painter, printmaker and sculptor is regarded as the leading Spanish exponent of Art Informel. Numerous awards and prestigious exhibitions – including documenta III (1964) – testify to his international standing. While his early work was influenced by Joan Miró and Paul Klee, Tàpies later began to paint completely black and grey compositions that sometimes incorporated fragmentary elements of everyday objects, often in a state of decay and with an emphasis on their material texture. Tàpies deliberately employs materials such as thick impasto paint, sand, wood and paper to add surface texture and heighten the pictorial expression of his works.

Station

Antoni Tàpies

Antoni Tàpies
Relleu negre per a Documenta, 1964
Ecriture sur le mur, 1971
Relleu negre per a Documenta, 1964
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Antoni Tàpies
Relleu negre per a Documenta, 1964

Relief noir pour la Documenta
Technique mixte sur toile, 275 x 230 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Le tableau gris-noir réalisé sous la sinistre dictature de Franco ressemble à un mur sombre et brûlé (Tàpies parle de « Relief »), tout entier fait de couleur, de sable, de cendre et de silence. Il ne s’agit plus ici d’une couche de fond sur laquelle un peintre expérimenté a déposé ses traces colorées — au pinceau ou à la manière des drippings de Pollock. Tàpies a en effet choisi de gratter des traces dans la masse même du fond coloré. Dans leur simplicité archaïque, ces traces peuvent se lire comme des propositions purement abstraites. Mais on peut aussi y voir les lignes séparant un sol de deux murs et d’un plafond. Nous nous trouvons alors en présence d’un angle, dont la noirceur ne ménage aucune issue.

Ecriture sur le mur, 1971
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Antoni Tàpies
Ecriture sur le mur, 1971

Technique mixte sur toile, 270 x 200 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Dans Écriture sur le mur, une élégance virtuose vient s’ajouter au mutisme archaïque de l ‘œuvre antérieure de la Fondation. Des structures d’une grande richesse éclosent, grattées, peintes, estompées. Le mur se transforme en moisson de traces qui suggèrent la présence d’êtres humains, l’histoire de vies, consignées par l’artiste qui (marchant sur les traces de Klee et de Miró) est capable de les déchiffrer et de s’en faire l’interprète, servant ainsi de truchement à tous ces êtres.

Antoni Tàpies
Antoni Tàpies

1923, Barcelone - 2012, Barcelone

Le peintre, graveur et créateur d’objets catalan est considéré comme le principal représentant espagnol de l’art informel. De nombreux prix ainsi que des expositions dans le monde entier, notamment à la documenta III (1964), témoignent de son importance internationale. Influencé initialement par Joan Miró et Paul Klee, il a peint par moments des compositions entièrement en noir et en gris, comportant des fragments d’objets quotidiens réalistes, souvent délabrés, en mettant l’accent sur leur texture matérielle. Il intègre délibérément des éléments concrets comme de la pâte colorée, du sable, du bois, du papier, etc. pour accentuer l’expression picturale de ses œuvres.

Station