Andy Warhol

Andy Warhol
Flowers, 1965
Self-Portrait, 1967
Joseph Beuys, 1980
Flowers, 1965
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Andy Warhol
Flowers, 1965

Silkscreen ink and acrylic on canvas, 213.4 x 369.3 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

The essential motif of Warhol’s Flowers series derives from a photograph the artist came across in a magazine. He modified the image in terms of the arrangement and number of blooms, creating numerous variations in the series of silkscreen prints which differ in colour and format. In this particular version, however, the petals and the green background were painted by hand. More than almost any of his other motifs, the flower image demonstrates Warhol’s core principle of seriality in a particularly striking and poetic manner. The flower represents an amalgamation both of the plant’s natural potential for proliferation and its technical reproducibility as a mass-produced figure of decoration. Although Warhol transposes the flower’s fragility and ephemerality into a monumental dimension, his Flowers also radiate an aura of vulnerability and nostalgia. Indeed, the first Flower prints were produced directly after his Disaster series, which focused on media images of death. In this light, Warhol’s Flowers can also be seen to echo the flower’s mythical relation to mortality that Ovid describes in Metamorphoses.

Self-Portrait, 1967
Add to favorites 

Currently on show at the Fondation Beyeler

Andy Warhol
Self-Portrait, 1967

Silkscreen ink and acrylic on canvas, 200 x 177 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

As a genre, self-portraiture is constant theme underlying Warhol’s entire work. From 1963 onwards, he produced silkscreen self-portraits based on ‘anonymous’ photographs, some of which were taken in photo booths or with a self-timer. The self-portrait in the Fondation’s collection belongs to a series from 1967, but it is the only print in this format. Warhol has assumed a pensive pose, holding his hand before his mouth, while dramatic lighting casts one half of his face in shadow. Indeed, the entire figure consists of zones of shadow, with the illuminated sections of the face coalescing with the blue of the background. This self-projection thus categorically challenges the clichéd notion of the superficial artist, proposing in its place the image of the intense yet torn melancholic.

Joseph Beuys, 1980
Add to favorites 

Currently not on show

Andy Warhol
Joseph Beuys, 1980

Silkscreen ink and diamond dust on acrylic on canvas, 101.5 x 101.5 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

The portrait of Beuys shows the German artist as a photographic negative, and hence belongs to Warhol’s Reversals series. In these works, Warhol allies the technical principles of screen printing with the creative possibilities of photography, which he then transfers into the traditional medium of painting. Through his treatment of the surface, which in certain areas is coated with diamond dust, Warhol gives the image an unusual haptic quality, while at the same accentuating the purely material aspect of the work of art as an object of unadulterated luxury. What distinguishes this preciously glittering dust, on the other hand, is precisely its incorporeal and fugitive presence; thus, as a materialized vanitas motif it betokens not least also the impermanence of possessions and life. The ambivalence of the sparkling surface texture is matched by the optical negative of the celebrity portrait – as an allusion to the impenetrable dark side of the star cult surrounding celebrity glamour.

Andy Warhol

1928, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania – 1987, New York

The American painter, printmaker, sculptor and filmmaker studied art in New York. Warhol is regarded as a pioneer of American Pop Art, both in his choice of subject matter and the new artistic techniques he employed. In 1960 he began making paintings based on images from comic strips, and from 1961 he produced his first serial images using a silkscreen printing technique. In this way Warhol legitimized screenprinting as an artistic medium and was the first artist to challenge the concepts of originality and the unique work of art. He also employed this technique in the 1970s to create his legendary portraits of celebrities. In 1964 Warhol founded The Factory, a film, photography and music studio where he lived and worked alongside numerous assistants. His prodigious talent was expressed in multimedia events such as nightclub shows involving performances by the rock band The Velvet Underground and the foundation of the magazine Interview in 1969. From 1978 until his death in 1987, in addition to his figurative photographic works he also produced completely abstract paintings in his Oxidation and Shadows series.

Station

Andy Warhol

Andy Warhol
Flowers, 1965
Self-Portrait, 1967
Joseph Beuys, 1980
Flowers, 1965
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Andy Warhol
Flowers, 1965

Fleurs
Sérigraphie et acrylique sur toile, 213,4 x 369,3 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Le motif fondamental de la série Flowers de Warhol remonte à une photographie que l’artiste avait découverte dans un journal. Après avoir modifié la disposition des fleurs et leur nombre, il a décliné ce sujet en de multiples variantes sérigraphiques, de couleur et de format différents. Dans la présente version, cependant, les fleurs et le fond vert ont été peints à la main. Il est peu de motifs qui illustrent le principe de sérialité de Warhol de façon aussi prégnante et aussi poétique que celui de la fleur. La représentation de cette dernière allie le potentiel naturel d’expansion du végétal à sa reproductibilité technique de sujet décoratif de masse. Bien que chez Warhol, l’aspect fragile et éphémère de la fleur soit traduit sous une forme monumentale, ses Flowers n’en sont pas moins entourées d’une aura de vulnérabilité et de nostalgie. Ses premiers tableaux de fleurs ont vu le jour immédiatement après la série Disaster, qui l’avait conduit à travailler sur des images de la mort. Les Flowers de Warhol peuvent ainsi s’inscrire dans le contexte mythique de la fleur et de la mort, déjà décrit par Ovide dans ses Métamorphoses.

Self-Portrait, 1967
Add to favorites 

Exposé actuellement à la Fondation Beyeler

Andy Warhol
Self-Portrait, 1967

Autoportrait
Sérigraphie et acrylique sur toile, 200 x 177cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Le genre de l’autoportrait parcourt l’intégralité de l’œuvre de Warhol comme un fil conducteur. À partir de 1963, l’artiste réalise des autoportraits en sérigraphie, qui prennent pour point de départ des photographies « anonymes », prises pour certaines dans des photomatons ou à l’aide d’un déclencheur automatique. L’autoportrait de la Fondation fait partie d’une série de 1967 ; il s’agit cependant du seul exemplaire de ce format. Warhol s’y représente dans une pose songeuse, la main devant la bouche, alors qu’un éclairage dramatique plonge la moitié de son visage dans l’ombre. Au demeurant, toute la figure ne se constitue qu’à partir de zones d’ombre, alors que les parties lumineuses et claires fusionnent avec le bleu du fond. Ce dessaisissement de soi remet fondamentalement en question le cliché de l’artiste superficiel ; il s’efface devant l’image d’un personnage mélancolique aussi profond que divisé.

Joseph Beuys, 1980
Add to favorites 

Non exposé actuellement

Andy Warhol
Joseph Beuys, 1980

Sérigraphie et poussière de diamant sur acrylique sur toile, 101,5 x 101,5 cm
Photo: Robert Bayer, Basel

Le portrait de Beuys présente l’artiste allemand sous forme de négatif photographique et s’inscrit ainsi dans la série des Reversals de Warhol. Ce dernier y associe le principe de la technique d’impression aux moyens de création de la photographie, avant de retraduire celle-ci en peinture, moyen d’expression traditionnel. À travers la surface recouverte par endroits de poussière de diamant, Warhol prête à l’image une qualité particulièrement tactile, soulignant en même temps la dimension purement matérielle de l’œuvre d’art, objet de luxe. Par ailleurs, cette précieuse poussière scintillante se caractérise précisément par son immatérialité et sa fugacité. Motif matérialisé de vanitas, elle renvoie au caractère éphémère de la possession et de la vie elle-même. Cette ambivalence de la structure miroitante de l’image trouve elle-même une correspondance dans le négatif visuel du portrait d’une célébrité — allusion au mystère insondable du culte glamour des stars.

Andy Warhol

1928, Pittsburgh/Pennsylvanie – 1987, New York

Le peintre, graveur et réalisateur américain a fait des études d’art à New York. Warhol passe pour un des fondateurs du Pop Art, tant en ce qui concerne les thèmes et les motifs que les techniques nouvelles. À partir de 1960, il réalise ses premiers tableaux qui prennent pour modèles des bandes dessinées, avant de créer à partir de 1961, ses premières séries qu’il réalisera plus tard en sérigraphie. Warhol donne ainsi à la sérigraphie sa légitimité de moyen d’expression artistique et est ainsi le premier artiste à rendre inopérant le postulat de l’œuvre originale. Il recourt à cette technique pour réaliser dans les années 1970 ses célèbres portraits de personnalités. En 1964, Warhol fonde la Silver Factory, un atelier de cinéma, de photographie et de musique, où il collabore et cohabite avec de nombreux assistants. Son talent polymorphe s’exprime dans des manifestations qui font la part belle aux multimédia, comme des Nightclub-Shows en collaboration avec le groupe rock Velvet Underground, ou dans la fondation du périodique Interview1969. De 1978 à sa mort en 1987, il crée, parallèlement aux séries d’œuvres photographiques se référant à des objets, des peintures entièrement abstraites, avec les séries Oxidation Paintings et Shadow Paintings.

Station